• Teen elected to New Haven board

     Nine votes made the difference between who would serve as the new face on New Haven City Commission Tuesday, Nov. 6.

    Christopher Cecil, 19, is the newest addition to the commission. Incumbents Donald Cecil, Frederick DeWitt and Jeff Rogers stayed in place.

    Candidate Michael Morris wasn’t elected to the commission.

    Christopher said he was happy to see that he was elected and wants to thank the citizens of New Haven for allowing him to be their new commissioner.

  • Time running out for tax amnesty

     The final weeks of Kentucky’s tax amnesty are winding down. Delinquent taxpayers have until Nov. 30 to apply for amnesty or else face tougher penalties and fees, plus a higher interest rate.

    The amnesty program began Oct. 1, allowing most persons or businesses owing back taxes to the Commonwealth of Kentucky to pay up without penalties or fees and with the interest owed cut in half. 

  • Obama re-elected

     President Barack Obama lost LaRue County and Kentucky but was declared the winner of the Nov. 6 election.

    His opponent, Republican Mitt Romney, received 60.51 percent or 1,087,128 votes in Kentucky; 3,911 votes in LaRue County.

    Obama received 37.81 percent or 679,341 votes in Kentucky; 1,733 votes in LaRue.

    Green candidate Jill Stein received 6,337 votes in the state; 16 in LaRue.

    Independent Randall A. Terry received 6,873 votes; 37 in LaRue.

    Libertarian Gary Johnson received 17,061 votes in the state; 67 in LaRue.

  • Guthrie wins another term

      Republican incumbent Rep. Brett Guthrie fended off three competitors Tuesday to win a third term as U.S. representative for the 2nd Congressional District.

    In an email, Guthrie said, “I am deeply honored the people of Kentucky’s 2nd Congressional District have elected me to a third term to represent them in Congress. I will continue to fight for pro-job policies, the repeal of Obamacare, and for a balanced budget.”

  • Two new school board members elected

     Two new school board members and a new city council member were chosen in Tuesday’s election.

    L. Dawn Williams Conner defeated incumbent Norbert Skees 592-405 for the District 1 School Board seat. Her district encompasses Hodgenville West and Lyons.

    Linda Pearman defeated incumbent Ronnie Chelf 554-417 for the District 2 School Board seat. Her district encompasses Hodgenville East and White City.

  • 911 communications tower dedicated to Chris Jackson

     LaRue County Emergency Management Director Chris Jackson was honored Wednesday by the local emergency planning committee for his efforts in procuring a communications tower for the county.

  • Williams sworn in as circuit judge

     Senate President David L. Williams has accepted appointment as Circuit Judge for the 40th Judicial Circuit and has taken the oath of office for that position. His acceptance of the appointment causes a vacancy in the State Senate seat for the 16th District. Senator Williams’ position on the Legislative Research Commission (LRC) has also been vacated.

  • Public meetings planned to discuss rate hike for natural gas

     The Kentucky Public Service Commission (PSC) will hold public meetings to present information and receive comments on the requests for rate increases by the Kentucky Utilities Co. and the Louisville Gas & Electric Co.

    “These meetings will allow the public to learn about the PSC’s ratemaking process and to present their views directly to members of the Commission as it prepares to consider whether the proposed new rates are fair, just and reasonable,” PSC Chairman David Armstrong said.

    The meetings are scheduled for:

  • Absentee ballots available for General Election

     The General Election is Nov 6.

    Polls are open from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. and any voter who is in line to vote by 6 p.m. will be allowed to cast a ballot.

    Voters can avoid surprises on Election Day by checking their polling place and viewing sample ballots through the Voter Information Center https://cdcbp.ky.gov/VICWeb/index.jsp.

  • General Election is Nov. 6

     The General Election is Nov. 6.