• School calendar - July 25, 2018

    KHIC Wee Time

    Preschool children ages 2-4 and their parents are invited to Wee Time, where preschool children can become familiar with the school they will attend. The first event of the 2018-2019 school year is on August 15, 2018 from 9 to 10:30 a.m. at Hodgenville Elementary School. The color for the event is red.

  • Nominations open for ECTC distinguished alumni

    Since 2006, Elizabethtown Community and Technical College’s Distinguished Alumni Program has celebrated the accomplishments of 112 outstanding former students and graduates. These leaders have made noteworthy contributions to their professions and communities, expanding ECTC’s impact across the country. Nominees are now being sought for induction into the 2018 Class.

  • Maintaining the fleet

    Keeping a school district’s bus fleet’s mechanical parts and safety features in good working order is an important task in ensuring students arrive at school and return home safely.

    LaRue County Vehicle Maintenance Manger Nathan Wheeler and James Jones, school bus mechanic, not only are certified to maintain the district’s fleet, but also have received certification to teach other district’s bus inspectors.

  • LCHS student gains experience in Washington D.C.

    LaRue County High School senior Kodee Brinegar was selected to be a National Youth Correspondent at the Washington Journalism and Media Conference at George Mason University. The conference includes education and hands on learning in communications, media research, new media, and electronic journalism. Brinegar spent a week at the journalism conference and interviewed Congressman Brett Guthrie on Thursday, July 12 about the work he has been doing in Congress and on his thoughts about student journalism.

  • Just give it away
  • LaRue County student wins HMH Auxiliary Scholarship

    Madison Eads of Magnolia is one of the recipients of the 2018 Hardin Memorial Health Auxiliary Scholarship Awards. The Auxiliary awards the scholarships to students from across the region who are pursuing a degree in the medical field. Eads, graduate of LaRue County High School, has plans to enter the medical profession. This year, the Auxiliary gave a record number of 20 $1,000 scholarships as well as a special scholarship of $1,500 that was dedicated in honor of former HMH Auxiliary President Hans Marsen.

  • LaRue County 4-H News

    The 4-H horticulture, vegetable and crop exhibits will be taken on Monday, August 6 at the Extension Office.  Entries will be taken from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m.  Judging will take place that afternoon and exhibits will be on display beginning at 3 p.m.  Class winning entries will qualify to be exhibited in Cloverville at the Kentucky State Fair later in August. 

    The other 4-H exhibits such as arts, photography and foods were taken during the LaRue County Fair in early June.  Those class winners will also be advancing to the Kentucky State Fair.

  • Meredith receives National FFA Scholarship

    Myah Meredith of Hodgenville was recently awarded a $2,500 Mahindra USA Women in Ag scholarship from the National FFA Organization. The scholarship is sponsored by Mahindra USA Women in Ag. Meredith is a 2018 graduate of LaRue County High School and she plans to use the scholarship to pursue a degree at Eastern Kentucky University.

    The Scholarship is one of 1,829 awarded through the National FFA Organization’s scholarship program this year. Currently, 114 sponsors contribute more than $2.5 million to support scholarships for students.

  • Personnel Changes - July 2018

    The LaRue County Board of Education reviewed several personnel changes at their July 2018 meeting

    Accepted the Recommendation of Employment of:

    Bryan Cyr as Vocal Music Teacher at LaRue County High and Middle Schools

    Nikki Coates as Cheer coach at LCMS

    Jorge Venegas as Robotics Sponsor at LCHS

    Elizabeth Lockett as Junior Class Sponsor at LCHS

    Tony Hatmaker as a Summer School Teacher for LCS

    Stephanie Burba as Biology Teacher at LCHS

    Amanda Hayes as Exceptional Education Teacher at LCMS

  • EKU Award Recipients

    Dean’s List

    Eastern Kentucky University has announced 391 Dean’s Award recipients for the Spring 2018 semester and seven of them are from LaRue County.

    Award recipients for the Dean’s list include:

    Jesse-Tate Colton Pickerell of Hodgenville

    Stephen Cole Plouvier of Hodgenville

    Clarissa Rose Baker of Mount Sherman

    Callie J. Belden of Magnolia

    Joshua Daniel Adams of Hodgenville

    Zoie Claire Webb of Buffalo

    Nicholas Alexander LaFollette of Hodgenville