• Morning fitness at HES

    They walk; they talk; they run, but most of all early arriving students to Hodgenville Elementary School start their day with 15 minutes of moving in what is called Morning Fitness or Fitness Club.

    “The purpose of early morning fitness is so that students get some fitness in their life,” said Melissa Pearman, HES Family Resource Center coordinator.” “It also helps them to release some energy so they can better focus when they get to class.” 

  • Who we are and why we matter

    As a part of the National Adult Education and Family Literacy Week on September 23 - 29, the LaRue County SKILLS U program would like to take the opportunity to educate the community on the relevancy of Skills U in the community.

  • Innovative Females in Technology

    Walk into one of the classrooms at LaRue County High School about 2 p.m. on any early-release Friday and you are likely to see about 20 female elementary students energetically engaged in learning about technology.

    They are members of the IFIT(Innovative Females in Technology) Club, newly formed as a means of increasing female roles in the world of technology.

  • School calendar - September 12, 2018

    ECTC hosts Constitution Day Celebration

    Every year colleges and universities celebrate the signing of the U.S. Constitution on September 17, which is known as Constitution Day. This year Elizabethtown Community and Technical College will commemorate the event with “A Musical Constitution Day Celebration: Folklore & Religion in the New Nation: The Folk-tunes & Hymns of Early America.” Performers include Jacqueline Hawkins, Andrew Rhinehart, and Lorinda Jones.

  • 16 LCHS graduates named Senator Jeff Green Scholars

    Sixteen members of the 2018 graduating class of LaRue County High School have been named Senator Jeff Green Scholars by the Kentucky Higher Education Assistance Authority (KHEAA).

    To earn this honor, a student must have a 4.0 grade point average each year of high school and at least a 28 composite on the ACT.

  • Color Picnic Day
  • Wee Time, KHIC is great for children

    With so much continuously increasing knowledge, the impetus for educators to prepare children for learning at earlier ages becomes greater and greater.

    LaRue County’s family resource center coordinators Machelle Durham, at Abraham Lincoln Elementary, Melissa Pearman, at Hodgenville Elementary, and assistant Jessica Skaggs offer two programs, Wee Time and KHIC(Kindergarten Here I Come), to help fulfill that need for early learning preparation.

  • School calendar - September 5, 2018

    KHIC Wee Time

    Preschool children ages 2-4 and their parents are invited to Wee Time, where preschool children can become familiar with the school they will attend. The first event of the 2018-2019 school year is on September 19, 2018 from 9 to 10:30 a.m. at Hodegnville Elementary School. The color for the event is orange.

  • WKU Forensics team preparing for 2018-2019 season

    The 34 members of the Western Kentucky University Forensic Team have returned to campus and are preparing for the 2018-19 season. Three of the members are LaRue County High School graduates.

    The three LCHS graduates on the team are:

    Brian Anderson, a senior from Hodgenville, studying Economics, International Affairs and Asian Religions.

    Parker Anderson, a freshman from Hodgenville, studying English for Secondary Teachers.

    Symone Whalin, a sophomore from Sonora, studying Chemistry and Biology.

  • Dr. Chuck Crain receives CU’s 2018 Non-Tenured Faculty Excellence Award

    “Dr. Crain has a heart for all students, especially the diverse population of students enrolled in our MSITM and PMBA programs based in Louisville,” Dr. Donna Hedgepath, provost and vice president of academic affairs, said at Campbellsville University’s chapel service on August 22 in Ransdell Chapel.

    Dr. Charles “Chuck” Crain, of LaRue County, chair of graduate business program at the Louisville Education Center and assistant professor of business, was named the 2018 non-tenured faculty member of the year.