• Stone named to Morehead's Dean's List

    The Morehead State University Dean’s List for the spring semester includes Breanna Stone of Hodgenville.

    To be named to the list, a student must be enrolled on a full-time basis and achieve at least a 3.5 grade point average on a 4.0 scale for the semester.

  • Open Library continues education through summer

    Wanting to ensure that the opportunity for learning continues through summer break, Melissa Pearman and Machelle Durham, LaRue County Schools’ family resource center coordinators, are operating Open Library at Hodgenville Elementary School.

    “If a child goes all summer without reading, his or her reading level does go down some,” Pearman said. “Statistics show that students need continual mental stimulation and this program does just that by keeping their minds engaged.”

  • Minard receives degree from Sullivan

    Shalicia Minard, a LaRue County High School graduate, earned an associate of science degree in early childhood education from Sullivan University in March.

    She also earned a diploma as professional nanny.

  • Personnel changes

    The LaRue County School Board accepted the following personnel recommendations June 15:

    •Extended-employment of Lisa Kerr as LaRue County High School girls track coach effective end of school year.

    •Resignation, due to retirement, of Vicky Stewart as teacher at LaRue County Middle School effective July 1.

    •Extended-employment of Becky Hawkins as HES Cool School Cake Decorating Club Sponsor effective May 20.

    •Extended-employment of Cara Holt as HES Cool School Art Teacher effective May 20.

  • McMahan graduates from law school

    Teresa R. McMahan, daughter of Arthur and Patty McMahan of Hodgenville, recently graduated from Ohio Northern’s Pettit College of Law at Ohio Northern University. She received the degree of Juris Doctor.

    On campus, McMahan was active in the Fall National Appellate Advocacy Competition, the Moot Court Board of Advocates, the Legal Association of Women, the Christian Legal Society, the Icelandic Exchange Program, the Street Law Program, the Student Bar Association, the Criminal Law Society and the Federalist Society.

  • Kids Crew discovers life in trip ‘Down Under’

    “Children of all ages learn better if they have a real-life experience to relate to the subject,” said Stephanie Ash, Kids Crew director.

    That’s the reason 34 children, four teachers and three parent chaperons traveled June 17 to Horse Cave to Kentucky Down Under where they observed animals and the culture of a land almost 10,000 miles away – Australia.

  • McCoy, Rutledge named to college Dean’s Lists

    Angela Rutledge of Buffalo was named to the dean’s list for the spring semester at University of Wisconsin Oshkosh. Those with a GPA of 3.75 or higher qualify for the Dean’s List.

    Rutledge is a correspondent for The LaRue County Herald News.

    Angelina Suzann McCoy, daughter of Wilbern and Suzann McCoy of Hodgenville, was named to the Dean’s List for the spring semester at Georgetown College.

    The Dean’s List honors undergraduate students who completed the semester with at least 12 hours and a 3.7 GPA.

  • EMS scholarships available

    The Community Foundation of Louisville is accepting applications to the Brian Jennemann Memorial Scholarship Fund, a perpetual endowment fund created by Brian’s parents to honor his life and commitment to helping others. On July 20, 2001, he died after a brief battle with meningococcal meningitis. He was an emergency medical technician with the Jefferson County Emergency Medical Services.

  • GED program helps adults realize their dreams

    As the GED candidates walk across the stage of LaRue County High School’s auditorium June 25 to receive their certificates, each will have finished a journey that was marked by dogged determination overcoming all obstacles.

    One of those people is Rhiannon Robbins Ward who dropped out of a Jefferson County high school when she was a sophomore. After quitting school, Ward soon realized that a high school diploma or GED would be a necessity if she were to achieve her career goal of becoming a registered nurse.

  • Teachers honored for excellence

    Campbellsville University awarded Excellence in Teaching Awards to 145 educators from across Kentucky during the 23rd annual awards program May 16 in the Winters Dining Hall of the E. Bruce Heilman Student Complex on the Campbellsville University campus.

    Dr. Brenda A. Priddy, dean of the School of Education, and Benji Kelly, vice president for development, presented the awards. The teachers represent 57 school districts.