• School technology milestones

    Although California’s NAPA Valley receives a lot of recognition as the cradle of American technology, Kentucky deserves kudos for its 25 years of developmental leadership in educational technology and its standing compared to the rest of the nation.

    Freddie Newby, LaRue County Schools’ chief information officer, shared information released from the office of David Couch, associate commissioner in the Kentucky office of education technology, that lists some of the milestones attained by our state in technology.

    Among those:

  • The Search Begins

    The LaRue County School Board held a special called meeting on Wednesday, December 20 to discuss their timeline for hiring a new superintendent.

    The school board met with Field Consultant Tim Eaton who is with the Kentucky School Board Association, which is the search firm the school board hired to help them in the search for a new superintendent.

  • Cub scout collection
  • School calendar - December 20, 2017

    KHIC Wee Time

  • Alexis Boyce Receives ESU scholarship

    Alexis Boyce of Hodgenville received the City of Emporia Grant for the 2017-18 academic year at Emporia State University in Emporia, Kansas.

    Scholarship funds are helping more than 1,400 Emporia State students from Kansas, 23 other states and 31 foreign countries realize their educational dreams during the 2017-18 academic year.

  • Personnel Changes - December 2017

    The LaRue County Board of Education reviewed several personnel changes at their December meeting.

    Accepted the Recommendation of Employment of:

    Carla Graham as Attendance Clerk/Secretary at LCHS

    Joseph Sweat as Microcomputer Specialist for LaRue County Schools

    Kendrick Bryan as Head Volleyball Coach at LCMS

    Judith Carmine as TRT at ALES

    Accepted the Resignation of:

    Kristen Absher, School Nurse for LCMS and LCHS

    Carla Graham as TRT at ALES

  • Detre now vice-president of KASA

    LaRue County Middle School Principal Dr. Jason Detre is also serving as vice president of the Kentucky Association of School Administrators.

    He was elected July 28 at the 49th annual KASA Annual Leadership Institute held in Louisville as an officer of the largest school administrators’ group in Kentucky, representing more than 3000 education leaders from across the commonwealth.

    “I was both honored and humbled to be able to serve an organization that invests time and resources in developing leaders of public education,” Detre stated.

  • School Calendar - December 13, 2017

    2017 Christmas Concert

    The LaRue County 6th, 7th and 8th Grade Bands, the LCHS Brass Ensemble, and LCHS Concert Band will perform a Christmas Concert at 6 p.m. on Friday, December 15. The concert will be held at First Baptist Church – Hodgenville located at 730 Tonieville Road, Hodgenville. The community is invited to attend.

    ALES Family Resource Center Advisory Council

  • LaRue County Speech travels to National Level Tournaments

    Several members of the LaRue County Speech team traveled to Chicago and Washington DC this past month to compete in the prestigious Glenbrooks and the George Mason University Patriot Classic speech tournaments in those cities.

    The students included seniors Parker Anderson, Elena Cecil, Ashlen Grubbs, Alexia Trumbo and sophomores Addie Ann Cundiff, Kaylee Whiteman, Stefani Giles, and Helen Anderson. The students distinguished themselves at each of the tournaments and advanced into elimination rounds in several events.

  • LCHS Principal Skaggs wins award

    Denise Skaggs is the recipient of a “Rally on Me” award for her work as principal at LaRue County High School.

    Skaggs, a long-time veteran teacher and administrator with the LaRue County School District, has served as LCHS principal since April 25 when she was selected to replace former principal Kyle Goodlett who was fired after being charged with federal and state child pornography.

    Presenters from HOPE (Helping Other People Excel Training and Professional Development, LLC.) gave Skaggs the award November 4 at Fort Knox.