• School Calendar - Feb. 26, 2014


  • Local Scholarships - Feb. 26, 2014


  • Teachers Who Made a Difference accepting nominations

     The University of Kentucky College of Education and UK womens's basketball coach Matthew Mitchell are teaming up again this year to offer the Teachers Who Made a Difference program and are currently accepting submissions.

    Now in its 16th year, the program gives individuals an opportunity to thank the teachers, principals, college professors or other educators who have inspired and motivated them to succeed. More than 1,800 teachers have been honored since the program’s inception.

  • LCHS Speech Team wins five championships at KESDA

     The LaRue County High School Speech team traveled to the first of its four statewide speech tournaments this weekend, and brought home five championships, two overall team trophies, and several other awards. 

    This weekend’s tournament was the state championships hosted by the Kentucky Educational Speech and Drama Association in Lexington. LaRue took 16 students to the tournament and placed second overall in squad efficiency, an award given every year to the teams whose individual students average the most points toward the overall sweepstakes totals. 


     LaRue County Schools’ eighth and 10th grade students scored higher than the state average in every subject area on their accountability tests according to results released last week.

  • Students honored by Cumberland University

     Two local students have been named to the Cumberland University Dean’s List for the Fall 2013 semester. The honor is reserved for students who have achieved a GPA of 3.50 or above on all classes attempted.

    They are: Kara Paden, biochemistry major, Hodgenville; and Nicholas Paden, mathematics, secondary education major, Hodgenville.

  • ECTC President's and Dean's List - Fall 2013

     Elizabethtown Community and Technical College has announced the names of students who made the Dean’s List and the President’s Honor List for Fall 2013 Semester. The President’s Honor List is awarded to full-time and part-time students who are eligible based on the following criteria:

    Full-time degree-seeking students earning a 4.0 grade point average and successfully completing at least 12 hours of course work for the academic term, excluding developmental courses, are included in the Full-time student President’s Honor List.

  • Nolin RECC offers trip to Washington, D.C.

     Local high school juniors whose parents or guardians are members receiving electric service from Nolin Rural Electric Cooperative Corporation are eligible to enter a contest that may take them to Washington, D.C. The yearly competition also includes a trip to Frankfort for all participating students. 

  • PHOTO: LCHS Pep Band

     The LaRue County High School Pep Band played during a recent home basketball game. Pictured are Will Smith and Trevor Mather on sousaphone; Shayne Wathen on drums; and Alexia Trumbo on trombone.

  • PHOTO: Seniors, Band of Hawks

     LaRue County High School Band seniors and their parents were honored recently. From left, Jessie Stewart (mother of Tim Hibbard), Tim Hibbard, Jason Willman, Jesse Highbaugh, Joey Gearon, and Paula Gearon (mother of Joey).