• Duncan named FRYSC Region 11 chairperson

    This year, Marsha Duncan, LaRue County School Districts Youth Service Center coordinator, assumes an additional role, having been chosen as chairperson of the 13-county, 18-school-district Family Resource and Youth Services Center Region 11 Advisory Council.

  • Scholar: Whelan honored by TIP

    Jonathan Whelan, the home-schooled seventh-grade son of David and Beverly Whelan of Howardstown, was recognized in Duke TIP’s Kentucky Recognition Ceremony at Western Kentucky University on May 23.

    To be eligible to participate in Duke University’s Talent Identification Program, a student must have scored in the top 5 percent of his grade on a national standardized achievement test. Eligible students are then required to take either the ACT or SAT alongside college-bound 11th and 12th graders.

  • It's never too early to prepare your child for school
  • LCMS students ready for laptops

    Jason Detre, LaRue County Middle School principal, realizes the importance of every one of his students receiving a laptop computer this fall.

    “As we enter the 21st Century, excellence in education requires that technology is seamlessly integrated throughout the educational program,” he said. “Increasing access to technology is essential for that future, and the learning tool of these 21st century students is the laptop computer.”

  • ECTC Dean's and President's List

    Elizabethtown Community and Technical College has announced the names of students who made the Dean’s List and the President’s Honor List for the spring semester.

    The President’s Honor List is awarded to full-time and part-time students who are eligible based on the following criteria:

    Full-time degree-seeking students earning a 4.0 grade point average and successfully completing at least 12 hours of course work for the academic term, excluding developmental courses, are included in the full-time student President’s Honor List.

  • Scholarship: Sarah Stults Honored

    Hilda Morrison Harned of Lexington and formerly of Hodgenville, will celebrate her 90th birthday on July 28, 2014.

    She was born July 28, 1964, to John William and Bessie Woodall Morrison.

    She is a registered nurse and the former administrator of Sunrise Manor Nursing Home. She and her husband, Henry, now deceased, have one daughter, Donna Vela.

    The reception will be 2-4 p.m. Sunday, July 13, at the Hodgenville Christian Church annex on Lincoln Square.

    Family and friends are invited.

  • Students named to Dean's List

    Eastern Kentucky University announced that 2,880 students earned Dean’s List honors for the Spring 2014 semester.

    They are:

  • LCHS shines in top-40 at National Speech Tournament

    The LaRue County High School Speech and Debate team spent the second week in June competing at the National Speech and Debate Association (NSDA, formerly NFL) National Speech Tournament to wrap up their 2013-14 speech season.

    Even though graduation had already occurred at LCHS, 2014 graduates Curtis Milby, Elijah Thomas, and Joey Gearon gave up a week of their summer before beginning college to represent LCHS at this final competition of their high school careers. Junior Brian Anderson also attended the national tournament.

  • School Personnel Changes

    The LaRue County School Board heard the following personnel recommendations on June 16.

    Employment of:

  • School Calendar - July 2


    First day of school

    The first day of school for students is Aug. 6. Fall break is Oct. 6-10.


    Office closed

    The HES front office will be closed through July 4.

    Student registration