• Excellence in Teaching

    At the annual 32nd Excellence in Teaching Ceremony, Campbellsville University recognized three teachers from the LaRue County School District.

    169 teachers from 60 school districts were recognized. A total of 3,749 teachers have been recognized for their teaching excellence throughout the years.

    LaRue County Schools award recipients include: Erin Hardwick, Abraham Lincoln Elementary School; William Arendt, LaRue County Middle School; and Eric Allen, LaRue County High School.

  • LC Adult Graduation is next week

    LaRue County’s adult education program, which will have its commencement in LaRue County High School’s auditorium June 18 at 6 p.m., continues its top-notch tradition.

    “This is the largest number of GED’s (General Education Development certificates) we have had in the past four years during my tenure,” said Connie Goff, LaRue County Schools director of adult and community education.  “We currently place number three for GED attainment and stand at number one in the overall top 25 in the state.”

  • Senior Awards Night

    Millions of dollars in national college and local scholarships were awarded to LaRue County High School seniors at the LCHS Senior Awards Night on May 14, 2018.

    Awards night is an annual awards ceremony to recognize LaRue County seniors for all of their hard work and to let the community have an insight about their future plans, goals, and aspirations. 

    Awards were given to over 90 LaRue County High School students, and most students received several scholarships.

  • Herbs in a Jar Class
  • WKU’s 2018 Dean’s and Presidential List

    The following Western Kentucky University students from the LaRue County area were named to the Dean’s and President’s lists for the spring 2018 semester. Full-time undergraduate students with a semester grade-point average of 3.4 to 3.79 are named to the Dean’s List. Students with a GPA of 3.8 to 4.0 are named to the President’s List. Their names are marked with an asterisk (*).

  • Newby Graduates from LWC

    Lorren Newby of Magnolia recently graduated from Lindsey Wilson College with a bachelor of science degree in nursing.

    Newby was among 218 students who received undergraduate or graduate degrees at the college’s 107th commencement ceremony on May 12, 2018 in Biggers Sports Center at LWC.

  • LCMS Honor Roll

    With an all A Honor Roll, in sixth grade: Kayleigh Adkins, Alivia Akers, Emily Albertson, Lenayah Andrews, Matthew Ball, Shalee Belcher, Austin Blackburn, Hannah Boggs, Cutter Boley, Aiden Brown, Shelby Burris, Kairi Butler, Patrick Butterworth, Donavin Cecil, Elizabeth Cecil, Allie Cecil, Madison Chaudoin, Carson Childress, Jacob Clark, Hannah Compton, Caden Davis, Nathaniel Faulkner, William Faulkner, Gabriel Fortier, Lydia Goode, Carlie Graham, Brock Gross, Laila Gross, Yasmeen Hamada, Aiden Hawkins, Logan Hawkins, Jake Heady.

  • Camp Invention is Next Month

    Celebrating its tenth year this summer, Camp Invention in LaRue County, which runs 9 a.m.-3:30 p.m. July 9-13 at Abraham Lincoln Elementary School, leads the state in the number of campers enrolled with 125 plus six on a waiting list.

    “Something usually happens before camp to keep someone from coming, so one or two may get in,” noted Kathy Ross, retired LaRue County educator who has been director the entire time the district has hosted the camp. “The five people on the wait list last year were some of the first who signed up this year.”

  • The importance of technology for LCS

    There’s hardly any aspect related to schools today that isn’t in some way connected to technology.

    Attendance and finance data, assessment, various reports, classwork, instructional aids—all input and receive data through technology. That amount of information makes it imperative that the process runs smoothly and can be quickly repaired when it doesn’t.

    To do this, LaRue County Schools has a technology staff dedicated to keeping the pathways to and from the central data center located in the high school up and running.

  • Speech and Debate Team Recognition