• LCS to celebrate Veteran’s Day

    LaRue County Schools Youth Service Center will sponsor a Veterans Day program for LaRue County middle and high schools November 12.

    Marsha Duncan, LaRue County’s YSC coordinator, said the middle school program starts at 9 a.m. in the high school gym with the LCMS choir providing music and Marine veteran Andy Arendt the guest speaker.

    The high school program, also in the LCHS gym, begins at 2 p.m. with the Band of Hawks and high school choir providing music. Navy veteran David Wood is the featured speaker.

  • 4-H Youth Development Education
  • 2018 LCHS Mock General Election

    LaRue County High School students had the opportunity to participate in a mock election on November 2. A total of 18 students that meet the criteria of being 18 years old and registered voters were allowed to participate. The mock election was held during lunch for the students.

    The mock election results were:

    Jailer: Johnny Cottrill defeats Jamie Underwood (55.6% vs. 44.4%)

    State Representative: Brandon Reed defeats Terry Mills (72.2% vs. 27.8%)

  • Special Ed. Teacher of the Year

    Casey Sidebottom, a special education teacher at LaRue County High School, has been named LaRue County Schools’ nominee for The Kentucky Special Education Teacher of the Year.

    “Casey was selected due to her school and community involvement serving students with disabilities,” said Dr. Rhonda Simpson, LaRue County Schools’ director of special education.

  • New School Resource Deputy

       LaRue County Schools welcomed earlier this month the district’s first school resource deputy. Deputy Brandon Boone, an employee of the LaRue County Sheriff’s Department assigned to the school district, provides a law enforcement presence particularly at LaRue County High School, but is serving all the district’s schools.

  • Teacher Retiree Dinner
  • HES Honor Roll

    5th grade - All A Honor Roll Hodgenville Elementary

    Kaylee Cundiff, Haley Hines, Amelia Uthoff, Laura Walsh, Amelie Burchard, Grace Fulkerson, Austin Harp, Josey Higgs, Ryan Hughes, Genna Marsh, Patrick Hammons, Mary Ellen Richey, Guage Wimp, Isabella Day, Nehemiah Lackey, Patrick Murray, Scout Patrick, Ella Reed, and Gabriel Rock

    5th grade - AB Honor Roll Hodgenville Elementary

  • 4-H Candy Sales

    The annual LaRue County 4-H candy sale will begin this week.  Starting Friday, 4-H members may pick up candy at the Extension Office, located at 807 Old Elizabethtown Rd., across from Magnolia Bank.  Parents must sign a permission form in order for members to participate. 

    Members will be selling a variety of candy bars including caramel, crisp, almond, dark chocolate with almonds and milk chocolate for $1 each.

    For each 60 candy bars sold, the member’s name will go in a drawing for $25 cash.  The top seller will receive $50 cash.

  • ALES calendar - October 24, 2018

     Monday, October 22nd

    • Parent Conferences


    HAWK News will begin at 8:00 each morning! Safety Pledge on news each morning this week :)

    • September/ October Birthday Pencils
    • Grades 3-5 students (Take online pledge this week)


    Tuesday, October 23rd


  • Excel Nominees

    Four LaRue County teachers are nominees for the 2018-19 LG&E KU and WHAS-TV Excellence in Classroom and Educational Leadership (ExCEL) Award.

    They include Karlotta Cecil, Abraham Lincoln Elementary School; Lacy Hatfield, Hodgenville Elementary School; Tim Gross, LaRue County Middle School; and Misty Bivens, LaRue County High School.