Primary is May 20

-A A +A
By Linda Ireland


The ballots have been set for the May 20 Primary. 

Those unopposed in the primary and November General Election are County Clerk Linda Carter, County Coroner Todd R. Skaggs, Jailer Johnny Cottrill, Constable District 1 Ira Bloyd Jr., Magistrate District 1 Gary “Tony” Stewart, Magistrate District 2 Ricky Whitlock, Circuit Judge District 10, Division 1, Charles C. Simms III and Circuit Judge District 10, Division 2, John David “Jack” Seay, all Democrats.

Two incumbents are retiring.

County Attorney Dale Morris did not file for re-election. Hodgenville attorneys Thomas “Tom” Claycomb and Kyle Williamson, both Democrats, have filed.

Longtime Property Valuation Administrator James Q. Shaw, a Democrat, filed his candidacy paperwork early – but withdrew from the race on Jan. 28.

The position is being contested by Democrats Chad Puyear and Scotty Lee.

LaRue County Judge/executive Tommy Turner is being challenged by two other Democrats: Joe Pearman, a former judge/executive, and Jerry W. Rock, in his first bid for public office.

Five Democrats are vying for the job of sheriff: Terry Cruse, Tim Ford, Russell McCoy, James “Doc” Pepper and Dennis Lee Wells.

Incumbent magistrate Ronald Dale Nunn was facing a challenge in district 3 by fellow Democrat Earl Thomas Riggs – until Riggs dropped out of the race. Nunn will face Republican Stanley L. “Roy” Ray in the fall.

Incumbent magistrate W.L. Miller is facing a challenge from Democrat Larry Howell in district 4.

Incumbent constable Jeff Metcalf is being challenged by two fellow Democrats – Bennie Mauldin and Ronnie Chelf – in district 2.

Joe Allen, the incumbent constable in district 3, has no opposition from Democrats in the primary. He will face Mike Stillwell, a Republican, in the fall.

Two Democrats filed for constable in district 4: Robert “Bob” Thompson and Paul T. Massie. The winner of the primary will face Republican Nicholas O. Yount in the fall.

In the state representative race, incumbent Terry Mills of Lebanon, will face a challenge this fall against the winner of the Republican primary. Republicans who have filed are Amber Rogers Dones of Hodgenville (dropped out of race), J. Alex LaRue of Hodgenville and Richard Treitz of Greensburg. The winner will serve the 24th district of LaRue, Green and Marion counties.

Jeff S. Taylor has filed as judge of the Kentucky Court of Appeals, second appellate district, first division. Mark H. Flener, Osi Onyekwuluje, and  Kelly Thompson have filed in the second division. (Editor’s note: It was incorrectly stated in a previous edition of The LaRue County Herald News that Flener was unopposed.)

In the non-partisan category, races for the Hodgenville mayor’s seat, city council members and two school board seats for District 3 (Lincoln Farm, Buffalo) and District 5 (Hodgenville, Otter, Atilla, Mount Sherman) are up for grabs.

There is no primary for the non-partisan races. Candidates have until Aug. 12, 2014, to file a petition, certificate or statement.

Candidates wanting more information about running for political office can contact Carter’s office in the LaRue County Courthouse or visit the Kentucky State Board of Elections Web site at www.elect.ky.gov.

The general election will be Nov. 4, 2014.