2018 May Primary Election Results

-A A +A

30% of Registered Democrats Voted in LaRue

By Allison Shepherd

The May 22, 2018 LaRue County Primary Election with only Democrats on the ballot, ended in a 30% turnout and a close race for Judge Executive and a long term Magistrate unseated.

Registered Democrat voters in LaRue County number 5,932. On Tuesday, 1,803 cast their votes for the six contested races. There was no Republican contested races in this year's primary.

Incumbent LaRue County Judge/Executive Tommy Turner won re-election as he defeated candidate Joe Pearman by only 243 votes. The final count was Turner with 1,019, and Pearman with 776.

Incumbent LaRue County Jailer Johnny Cottrill defeated candidate Anthony Bailey with Cottrill receiving 1,234 votes compared to Bailey's 537. Cottrill will face Republican candidate Jamie Underwood in the November General Election.

In the 3rd District Constable Race, Michael Eldridge defeated Joseph Sallee (246-141 )

District 3 Magistrate Race came down to the wire, as only 10 votes deciding the race between Incumbent Ronald Dale Nunn, and candidate Earl Riggs. When the numbers were totaled, Riggs defeated Nunn with 230 votes to Nunn's 220 votes.

District 4 Magistrate Incumbent Larry Howell easily won re-election with 365 votes over candidate Troy Benningfield with a total of 77 votes.

LaRue voters had only one other race to vote on Tuesday with the 2nd Congressional US Representative for Congress. LaRue voters choose Hank Linderman with 34.85% of the votes. Linderman won the overall nomination across the state of Kentucky and will face Incumbent Republican Congressman Brett Guthrie in the November General Election. 

A complete breakdown by precinct and comments from the candidates will be featured in the May 30, 2018 edition of The LaRue County Herald News.