Today's Sports

  • Lady Hawks finish season of wins...

    In early March, the Lady Hawks coaching staff had the players list goals for the 2010 campaign. With the end of the regular season over, the team accomplished the goal to have a winning season. With a 4-1 home victory over rival North Hardin, the team guaranteed a winning season, 18-13, a major turnaround from last year’s record of 10-16.

  • Lady Hawks fall in District...

    The second-seeded Lady Hawks (18-16) fell to Hart County’s Lady Raiders in Monday’s 18th District Tournament semifinal in Greensburg.

    Third-seeded Hart County entered the tourney with a record of 12-13. Hart took the lead in the second inning and capitalized on Lady Hawk errors.

    LaRue won both regular season games against Hart County.

    The tournament, held at Greensburg’s American Legion Park, continued Tuesday with top-seeded Green County battling Hart County for the championship.

  • Hawks defeat E’town...

    The LaRue County Hawks baseball team played two games last week, winning both. They beat Elizabethtown 6-1 and Fort Knox 15-0. They were scheduled to play Louisville Fern Creek but the game was canceled due to inclement weather. 

    Panthers to pussycats

    The Hawks used a big offensive fifth inning to defeat the Elizabethtown Panthers May 18.

    “Offensively we executed the hit and run and the squeeze very efficiently.  We played with confidence,” said Coach Chris Price.

  • Hawks enter District Tournament...

    The top-seeded Hawks took on fourth-seeded Caverna in the 18th District Tournament’s semifinal game at American Legion Park in Greensburg Monday.

    The Hawks built a 7-0 lead in the first three innings, going on to win 10-2. Slade Owens had the win for the Hawks.

    The Hawks played Green County for the championship Tuesday. Green advanced to the championship by defeating Hart County 10-4.

    Watch for results at www.laruecountyherald.com.


  • Bluegrass Speedway- May 22

    44 Auto Mart Super Late Models (13 entries)

    Top Qualifier- D.J. Wells 15.060

    Dash- Tim Tungate, Jeff Watson, Terry English, Dustin Neat, D.J. Wells, Aaron Hatton

    Heat- Johnny Wheeler, Jarryd Holshouser, Tanner English, Lee Devasier

    Feature- Jeff Watson, Dustin Neat, Terry English, Aaron Hatton, Tim Tungate, Lee Devasier, Jarryd Holshouser, Johnny Wheeler, Tanner English, Tommy Klein, D.J. Wells, Rob Starkey, Dan Dunbar


    American Sprint Car Tour (9 entries)

    1st Heat- Hud Cone, Blake Nimee, Shane Wade, J.T. Stapp

  • Hawks win District Tournament

    The LaRue County Hawks heard all of the talk prior to the season about how their reign over the 18th District was about to come to an end.

  • 5th Region baseball tourney...

    5th Region BASEBALL Tournament

    HODGENVILLE — As determined by Saturday morning’s draw, the pairings for this week’s 5th Region Baseball Tournament at LaRue County High School:

  • Sports Shorts

    Jerry Rucker Memorial race

    The seventh annual Jerry Rucker Memorial event will take place at Bluegrass Speedway in Bardstown May 29. The 30-lap event is presented in memory of Rucker, a second-generation racer from Hodgenville who competed at Bluegrass Speedway before his untimely death in 2003. The event is held to honor his memory and raise money for a college scholarship fund for his children. For more information about the 2010 racing season, visit www.bluegrass-speedway.com.

    Future Hawks Basketball

  • Track and Field: Lexington...

    May 15


    Girls, 17 Teams

    17. LaRue County, 1 point

    Boys, 18 Teams

    12. LaRue County, 15 points


    Girls’ 100-Meter Dash

    22. Justine Scroggins, 14.29

    23. Tiana Phillips, 14.96

    Girls’ 200-Meter Dash

    16. Justine Scroggins, 28.25

    Girls’ 400-Meter Dash

    23. Shelby Mouser, 1:12.93

    Girls’ 800-Meter Run

    13. Amarah Reed, 2:44.44

    20. Meagan Williams, 2:57.56

    Girls’ 1,600-Meter Run

  • Mud Run - May 16 results

    Street Stock

    First: Katrina Alberton - Scottsburg, Ind.

    Second: Russell Fulkerson - Cox’s Creek

    Third: Jimmy Whitten - New Albany, Ind.

    Pro Street

    First: Kyle Atchison – Eminence

    Second: Presley Wilkerson – Munfordsville

    Third: Tony Evans – Smithfield

    Fourth: Gary Pare – Cecilia

    Pull Stock

    First: Andy Thomas – Elizabethtown

    Second: Greg Martin – Shepherdsville

    Third: John Mask - Brooks


    First: Barry Martin