• School Calendar – March 4, 2015


    School out

    Spring break is April 6-10.


    School board dates

    The LaRue County School Board meets at 7 p.m. March 16 at LaRue County High School. 




    The Abraham Lincoln Elementary School site-based decision-making council will meet at 5:30 p.m. on March 9. For more information, call the school at 270-358-4112.



  • Personnel changes announced at schools

    The LaRue County School Board heard several personnel recommendations at its February meeting.

    Accepted the recommendation of employment of:

    • David Edwards as Club Coordinator at Hodgenville Elementary School

  • ECTC announces President's Honor List, Dean's List

     Elizabethtown Community and Technical College has announced the names of students who made the Dean’s List and the President’s Honor List for Fall 2014 Semester.

    The President’s Honor List is awarded to full-time and part-time students who are earning a 4.0 grade point average and successfully completing at least 12 hours of course work (full-time) or cumulative 18 credits for part-time.

  • Scholarships - March 4, 2015

     Leadership LaRue

    Leadership LaRue County will award a $500 scholarship to a graduating senior from LaRue public or private schools, or an adult wishing to begin an educational program. Essay, high school transcript and letters of recommendation required. Application available at LCHS guidance counselor’s office or The LaRue County Chamber of Commerce. Deadline is April 1.


    Bluegrass Cellular 

  • Local students honored by UL

    Several LaRue County students have distinguished themselves academically at the University of Louisville.
    Jasmine R. Dickerson earned a bachelor of science in the fall 2014 semester.
    Several students were named as dean’s scholars or to the dean’s list in December. Generally, a student who is a dean’s scholar has a 4.0 grade point average and a student named to the dean’s list has a 3.5 grade point average.
    Dean’s Scholars – Chelsea Elizabeth Blair and John Ross Slack.

  • PHOTO: Scholarship winner
  • LCHS senior honored as 'Black History Maker'

    Benjamin Locke, a senior at LaRue County High School, was honored Feb. 26 as a “Black History Maker of Tomorrow.”
    He and nine other students from Kentucky and Indiana won a total of $15,000 in college scholarships sponsored by McDonald’s Restaurants of Kentuckiana. The ceremony was held at Louisville Metro Hall. Sadiqa Reynolds, chief for community building, Louisville Metro Government and Judge Erica Lee Williams, Jefferson County District Court Judge were on-site to honor the recipients.

  • Puckett, Milby successful at WKU tourney

    The Western Kentucky University Forensics Team traveled to Peoria and Normal, Illinois, and Bowling Green, Ohio, to compete in four tournaments the weekend of Feb. 27-28.

    In Illinois the team placed first in team sweepstakes, ahead of 10 other schools, including Bradley University, Illinois State University and Ball State University.

  • PHOTO: Senior band members honored

    Senior Band of Hawks members were honored at last week’s District Tournament. From left, Alexandra Bixenman, John Michael Lawler, Blake Merryman, Kaylee Smith and Victoria Smith.

  • ON EDUCATING LARUE: Job Fair held for students

    According to a Forbes Magazine article quoting data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the average worker today stays at each job for 4.4 years. The expected tenure of the workforce’s youngest employees is about half that.

    Information from National Longitudinal Surveys shows on average, younger baby boomers held an average of 11.3 jobs from ages 18 to 46. Men held 11.4 jobs and women held 10.7 jobs.