• Reed accepted to West Point

    LaRue County High School senior Spenser Reed has been accepted to the United States Military Academy at West Point.
    Cadets who enter the academy must do so with a nomination from a U.S. Senator or Congressman, and after completion of the four-year program are commissioned as 2nd Lieutenant in the U.S. Army.

  • LaRue teachers receive Excellence in Teaching award

    On May 21 Campbellsville University will recognize teachers Missy Flanders, David Noe and Chris Price as this year’s LaRue County recipients of the university’s Excellence in Teaching Award.
    The university began the award program in 1987 to recognize quality teaching and learning taking place throughout Kentucky.
    Flanders learned that she was the latest recipient while preparing for national board teacher certification the last of March.

  • PHOTO: Bus donated to ECTC

    Jefferson County Public Schools recently donated a fourth school bus, used for training purposes, to the Elizabethtown Community and Technical College diesel technology program. JCPS also donated buses in 2003, 2005 and 2006. On hand to accept delivery of the school bus were from left, Jim Engler, assistant director, vehicle maintenance JCPS; Doug Poteet, Les Pike and Jerry Clemons, ECTC auto/diesel technology instructors; and Pete Jones, JCPS Bus technician/inspector and ECTC graduate.

  • LCHS Drama Club to perform in 'The Nerd'

    The LaRue County High School Drama Club is in production for spring performances of The Nerd, a comedy by playwright Larry Shue. The cast includes seniors Ian Mather, Timmy Gibson, Jeshua Logsdon, Angelia Whitlock, Maegan Davis, junior Jake Lutze, and sophomore Curtis Milby.

  • Kiper earns Bachelor of Science in elementary education

    Amy McCorkle Kiper will receive a Bachelor of Science degree in elementary education at a commencement ceremony 6 p.m. May 14 at Western Kentucky University in Bowling Green.
    She will graduate with a 3.89 G.P.A. and is a member of the Gaumma Beta Phi sorority and Presidential Dean’s List.
    There will be a gathering of family and friends to celebrate her accomplishments on May 21.
    She is the wife of Darrell Kiper and daughter of William and Antonella McCorkle of Hodgenville.
    She is a 2005 graduate of LaRue County High School.

  • Kellise Hoefer awarded annual Cantrell-Lorey memorial scholarship

    Kellise Hoefer of Magnolia, a senior at LaRue County High School, is the recipient of the 2011 Cantrell-Lorey Scholarship. The Cantrell-Lorey scholarship is an annual scholarship donated by a former graduate, Emma Cantrell (Lorey) — Class of 1958 and her husband.  
    Hoefer plans to attend the University of Louisville this fall to pursue a physical therapy degree.
    She has been active in the book club and art club and is a member of the National Honor Society.
    She is the daughter of Kelly Hoefer and Marshall Hoefer.

  • Hellman named outstanding student at Georgetown

    Becky Hellman, a 2007 graduate of LaRue County High School, received the Outstanding Student Leadership Award April 26 from Georgetown College.
    Of more than 300 graduating seniors and 11 finalists, Hellman and Heather Norman were selected for the award.
    Hellman’s sponsor Laura Aispuro said, “Becky not only supports students, but notices subtle “red flags” indicating a struggle. Her investment, strong relationships and experiences have helped her to solve many problems before they escalate to something more serious.”  

  • PHOTO: Stephanie Nelson receives academic award

    Stephanie Jo Nelson of Buffalo, left, receives the Campbellsville University Nursing Award of Excellence and Academic Award from Robert Wade, dean of the School of Nursing and assistant professor of nursing.

  • PHOTO: Carmen Drake honored by Campbellsville University

    Carmen Danielle Drake of Hodgenville, left, receives the Campbellsville University William K. Pennebaker Education P-12 Award from Dr. Brenda Priddy, dean of the School of Education and associate professor. Drake is a music major.

  • Cattlemen’s Association offers scholarship

    The Kentucky Cattlemen’s Association has been a long-time supporter of youth across the state through FFA, 4-H and scholarships. KCA has two education scholarships available funded by the Kentucky Cattlemen’s Foundation.
    The KCF Youth Scholarship started in 1991 and has provided $74,000 in scholarship funds to students across Kentucky.  Five $1,000 scholarships will be awarded to one graduating high school senior from each of the five KCA regions who plan to major in Agriculture or an Agriculturally-related subject.