• SPRING PLAY: LCHS students to present 'An Evening of Culture'

    Students from LaRue County High School Drama will present the play “An Evening of Culture,” in March.

    The play, written by Mark Landon Smith and directed by LCHS teacher Katy Blair Cecil and volunteer Rob Thurman, is set in the fictional town of Mineola where a “disastrous production” of Romeo and Juliet is underway. The comedy is appropriate for all ages.

    "The characters in the play have no idea they've taken a tragedy and turned it into a farce," said Thurman.

  • Campbellsville University hosts 'Meet the Authors'

     Campbellsville University's School of Education will host the first Beulah Campbell Children's Literature Conference, 8 a.m.-3 p.m. April 21 on the campus of Campbellsville University.

    The conference is the first of a planned annual conference bringing together children's authors, teachers, librarians and other educators to share children's literature and ways of using literature in the classroom.

    The conference features keynote speaker Charles Ghigna and luncheon speaker Edie Hemingway.

  • PHOTO: Dow donation supports LCMS
  • ECTC offers ACT prep courses

    Elizabethtown Community and Technical College will offer ACT prep courses. Individual classes are structured to give attention to each of the four subject areas - English, math, reading and science - or students may choose to take the ACT overview, offering custom-designed tutoring and practical advice on all four subjects.
    The ACT scores received on the exam can play an important role in admission to a college or university. Upcoming ACT preparation courses will be from 6-9 p.m. on the following dates:
    • Overview - April 5
    • Math - April 9

  • Scholarship Calendar updated 2-15-12

    County Homemaker Scholarship

  • School Calendar updated 2-15-12

    Spring break is April 9-13. Last day of school is May 16.

    Stay After and Read every Tuesday after school until 4:15 p.m. with permission form.
    Academic Team every Wednesday after school until 4:15 p.m. in the library.
    STLP meets
    STLP meets in the computer lab after school until 4:15 p.m. and the BETA Club meets in McDowell’s classroom after school until 4 p.m. Feb. 9.


  • Lee lands $21,000 per year scholarship to JBU

    A phone call turned into a pleasant surprise for LaRue County High School senior Zach Lee last week.
    A representative of John Brown University was on the other end of the line, offering Lee a $21,000 per year scholarship to the prestigious Arkansas school.
    “They called me to the office, saying I was being interviewed for a newspaper story on my taking an online college course,” the Hodgenville resident said.  “As soon as I heard the man speak, though, I recognized him as being from John Brown University.”

  • ECTC sponsors art contest

    A juried art contest is being sponsored by Elizabethtown Community and Technical College’s “The Heartland Review.”
    The exhibition theme is inspired by natural elements. Works of art in every media are invited: nature, environmentalism, the body, identity, urbanism and responses to modernity.
    First place is $250; second, $150; third, $75.
    Artists may submit up to three pieces for a tax-deductible contribution of $10 which will support the contest and the journal.
    Artwork should have been created no earlier than the summer of 2010.

  • Deans List Transylvania University

    Two LaRue Countians have been named to the honor roll at Transylvania University.
    Curtis Puryear, a senior, and first-year student Valerie Whitlock were named to the Dean’s List for the 2011 fall term.
    To be named to the Dean’s List, a student must achieve at least a 3.5 grade point average during the term.
    Puryear, a philosophy and psychology double major, is the son of Carlton and Donna Puryear of Hodgenville.
    Whitlock is the daughter of Barry and Melanie Whitlock of Hodgenville.

  • Kentucky schools to begin using new accountability model

    The mandates of 2009’s Senate Bill 1, along with state regulations, provide the blueprint for Kentucky’s public school accountability model.