• Connor Logue earns Trustee's Scholarship

    Connor Michael Logue, a graduate of Louisville Male High School, will attend the University of Louisville this fall.
    He received the Trustee’s Scholarship and was chosen to be in the University’s honor program.
    Connor is the son of Tom and Valarie Logue and the grandson of Bradley and Maxine French of Hodgenville, and Eldred Taylor and the late Buford Logue of Louisville.

  • Superintendent's evaluation addressed by school board

    Superintendent Sam Sanders scored between “good” and excellent” on his annual evaluation.
    The LaRue County School Board voted Monday to accept the superintendent’s evaluation which is based on 10 performance standards requiring board member feedback. Scores are: zero – unacceptable; 1 – needs improvement; 2 – good; 3 – excellent; and 4 – outstanding.

  • Back-to-school at HES

    Hodgenville Elementary School will have its back-to-school bash Aug. 2. Students can drop off school supplies and meet their teacher and new principal, Sue Osborne.
    Students with last names beginning with A through M may attend 5-6 p.m. Students with last names beginning with N through Z may attend 6-7 p.m.
    If students are unable to attend during their specified time, they can stop by any time between 5 and 7 p.m.
    Refreshments will be served.

  • Changes made to dismissal times

    LaRue County students return to classes Aug. 4 while opening day for teachers is Aug. 2.
    Start times are 7:45 a.m. for elementary school and 8 a.m. for middle and high schools.
    There will be a change in afternoon dismissal times. Buses will load at the LaRue County Middle School and High School campuses first at 3-3:07 p.m. Buses will travel to elementary schools for loading 3:10-3:15 p.m.
    Schools will continue to dismiss early on Fridays – 1:30 p.m. for the middle and high schools and about 1:35 p.m. for the elementary schools.

  • School Calendar: Updated 07/19

    First day of school – Aug. 4
    Holiday, Labor Day – Sept. 5
    Fall break – Oct. 3-7

    July 28 – Kindergarten Launch, 8:30 a.m.-noon
    Aug. 1 – Parent Orientation Night 6-7:30 p.m. (This is a change on what was originally sent home with students.)
    For more information, call the school at 358-4112.

    Aug. 2 – Back-to-School Bash


  • No ‘gauges’ for middle school

    LaRue County Middle Schoolers will return to school Aug. 4 with an amendment to the dress code.
    On July 12, the site-based council added a “no open gauges” rule to the dress code policy.
    Gauges, a form of piercing, have not been an issue at the school, according to a school official.

  • Controversy over transportation funds tabled by council

    A LaRue County Middle School site based council meeting held in May led to a heated debate regarding the schools transportation funds.
    Eddie Paden, a teacher at LCMS, told the board that other schools in the district do not charge for transportation for field trips and several schools do not charge for the trips at all.

  • Camp Invention immerses students in creativity

    The Kentucky Association of School Administrators named Paul Mullins, principal of LaRue County High School, as the organization’s vice president Friday at the Galt House in Louisville.
    Mullins, last year’s KASA Administrator of the Year, was one of several local district administrators and teachers who presented programs during the conference.

  • Candis Carpenter named to Dean's List

    Candis Carpenter of Hodgenville was named to the spring Dean’s List at Elizabethtown Community and Technical College.
    To be named to the Dean’s List, a student must complete 12 semester hours and earn at least a 3.5 grade point average.
    She is the staff writer and graphic artist for The LaRue County Herald News.
    Carpenter and her husband Shane have a daughter, Heaven.

  • Sue Osborne takes helm at Hodgenville Elementary

    Sue Osborne has been selected as principal at Hodgenville Elementary School.
    The HES site-based decision making council and Superintendent Sam Sanders made the announcement after a special called meeting June 30.