• Scholarship competition open to high school juniors

    One Kentucky high school junior will win a $500 scholarship to use at a Kentucky college of his or her choice – and a photo shoot for the winner’s school. All the junior has to do is tell about the biggest challenge high school students face in 200 words or less.

    The “Promote Your School” scholarship contest is sponsored by the Kentucky Higher Education Assistance Authority. Photos from the winning school will be used in KHEAA books and other publications.

  • LCMS announces dropoff changes

    LaRue County Middle School is implementing new pick up procedures for students who ride home in cars, School Administrative Manager Paula Wood said.

    The new procedure is only for afternoon pickup. Drop off procedures will remain the same. Car riders who returned their surveys should have received a number that will be used for pick up identification.

    If you did not receive a number or if you have questions, call the LCMS office at 358-3196.

  • LaRue County students honored

    Five students from LaRue County have been named Sen. Jeff Green Scholars. Students earn this designation by achieving a 4.0 grade point average all four years of high school and scoring at least a 28 composite on the ACT.

    The title honors the late state Sen. Jeff Green of Mayfield, who served in the Kentucky General Assembly from 1992 to 1997.

    Local students who earned this prestigious designation are Hannah Canter, Autumn Kidd, Max McCubbin, Shanoa Milby and Chelsie Morrison.

    Central Hardin High School student Kristin Cardin also was named.

  • County observes American Education Week

    During American Education Week, Nov. 15-21, Americans nationwide will join the National Education Association in raising awareness about the need to provide every child with a quality public education. The celebration highlights the importance of bringing together educators, parents, students and communities in a unified effort to build great public schools. It also reflects NEA’s vision of calling upon America to provide public school students with quality schools so that they can grow and achieve in the 21st century.


  • School calendar


    Nov. 20 - A Visit with Bach in the afternoon

    Nov. 24 - Grade 3-5 GT Workshop 9:30-11 a.m.; Stay After and Read 2:45-4 p.m.; Open Library for Families 4-6 p.m.

    Nov. 30 - SBDM Assessment Committee 4 p.m.


    Wee Time

  • CU announces scholarship winners

    Campbellsville University has announced the academic scholarship recipients for the 2009-2010 academic year. They are:

    Anna Humphrey of New Haven, a 2009 graduate of Nelson County High School;

    Richard Stocton of Buffalo, the son of James Stocton and Margaret DeSpain and a 2006 graduate of Taylor County High School;

    Victoria Banks of Hodgenville, a 2009 graduate of LaRue County High School;

    Katelyn Davila of Hodgenville, the daughter of Lauro and Barbara Davila and a 2008 graduate of LCHS;

    Tyler Hornback of Hodgenville, a 2009 graduate of LCHS;

  • LCHS speech team starts season with a bang

    Six members of the LaRue County High School’s Speech Team spent Oct. 1-5 at Yale University competing in the Yale Invitational.

    The members included Timmy Gibson and Ian Mather competing in prose/poetry, Mac Blair in dramatic interpretation, Angelia Whitlock and Cody Thompson in humorous interpretation, and Chelsea Blair in oratory. 

    Gibson placed tenth overall and advanced to semi-finals and Mather placed 29th overall and reached to quarter-finals in prose/poetry out of a field of  more than120 competitors from 60 schools across 12 states.

  • ALES students participate in Fourth District Choir

    Twelve students from Abraham Lincoln Elementary School represented the school in the recent 4th District Treble Chorus sponsored by the Kentucky Music Educators Association at Meade County High School. Those attending were Sara Estes, Kaylee Gum, Erika Halbach, Chloe Price, Mary Gearon, Marisa Cecil, Autumn Riggs, Madison Eads, Breea Kirkpatrick, and Kalli Flanders. The students were accompanied by their music teacher, Penny Akers.

  • Volunteers key in community events

    LaRue County High School has a group of young people who are the backbone of many school and community events although they are never the headliners.

    The students, 70 strong, are members of the Youth Service Center’s Community Volunteer Service Club.

    Marsha Duncan, YSC coordinator who has advised the club all of its 13-year existence, knows the value these students are to school and community.

    “We are fortunate to have kids who have a strong commitment to our community and who are willing to help out,” Duncan stated.

  • LaRue Little Leaguers learn the ins and outs of competitive speech

    The Little League speech organization called Speak Out, hosted its first speech competition Oct. 15 at Hodgenville Elementary School. Twenty-four students from Hodgenville Elementary and Abraham Lincoln Elementary competed to earn top spots in three events: storytelling, poetry and solo acting.

    The top three students in each event earned trophies and an overall Sweepstakes trophy was awarded to the school that earned the most points based on how well the students performed throughout the tournament.