• School Board reviews personnel changes

    The following personnel recommendations were accepted by the LaRue County School Board Nov. 16.

    •Extended employment of Traci Weaver as academic coach at Hodgenville Elementary School effective Oct. 26.

    •Employment of Barry Bell as substitute custodian effective Oct. 26.

    •Ronald Brown as substitute bus monitor effective Nov. 4.

  • Hynes, Young named to ALES cabinet

    Heather Hynes and Terri Young have been recognized at the October recipients of the Lincoln Presidential Cabinet Awards at Abraham Lincoln Elementary School.

  • LaRue grad melds chorus talents

    LaRue County High School alumnus Steve Skaggs directed the Fourth District Treble Chorus, 200 students from the 11-county district who performed at Meade County High School auditorium Sept. 26.

    Skaggs, who like his wife, Shirley, is a 1971 LCHS graduate, called his first experience as the director an honor.

  • Teachers combine resources to further education

    Teachers today are focusing on impacting the education of every child instead of teaching to the class as a whole.

    To do that effectively, according to a large number of educators, the teachers can’t work in isolation, but must communicate and combine their skills and efforts.

  • ALES honors veterans

    About 50 veterans were honored for their service to our country Nov. 9 at Abraham Lincoln Elementary School. It was the second year the school held the ceremony. Twenty-nine veterans were in attendance as they were recognized for their individual efforts and accomplishments by retired Lt. Col. Garry Ross.

  • Scholarship competition open to high school juniors

    One Kentucky high school junior will win a $500 scholarship to use at a Kentucky college of his or her choice – and a photo shoot for the winner’s school. All the junior has to do is tell about the biggest challenge high school students face in 200 words or less.

    The “Promote Your School” scholarship contest is sponsored by the Kentucky Higher Education Assistance Authority. Photos from the winning school will be used in KHEAA books and other publications.

  • LCMS announces dropoff changes

    LaRue County Middle School is implementing new pick up procedures for students who ride home in cars, School Administrative Manager Paula Wood said.

    The new procedure is only for afternoon pickup. Drop off procedures will remain the same. Car riders who returned their surveys should have received a number that will be used for pick up identification.

    If you did not receive a number or if you have questions, call the LCMS office at 358-3196.

  • LaRue County students honored

    Five students from LaRue County have been named Sen. Jeff Green Scholars. Students earn this designation by achieving a 4.0 grade point average all four years of high school and scoring at least a 28 composite on the ACT.

    The title honors the late state Sen. Jeff Green of Mayfield, who served in the Kentucky General Assembly from 1992 to 1997.

    Local students who earned this prestigious designation are Hannah Canter, Autumn Kidd, Max McCubbin, Shanoa Milby and Chelsie Morrison.

    Central Hardin High School student Kristin Cardin also was named.

  • County observes American Education Week

    During American Education Week, Nov. 15-21, Americans nationwide will join the National Education Association in raising awareness about the need to provide every child with a quality public education. The celebration highlights the importance of bringing together educators, parents, students and communities in a unified effort to build great public schools. It also reflects NEA’s vision of calling upon America to provide public school students with quality schools so that they can grow and achieve in the 21st century.


  • School calendar


    Nov. 20 - A Visit with Bach in the afternoon

    Nov. 24 - Grade 3-5 GT Workshop 9:30-11 a.m.; Stay After and Read 2:45-4 p.m.; Open Library for Families 4-6 p.m.

    Nov. 30 - SBDM Assessment Committee 4 p.m.


    Wee Time