• LaRue County EKU students receive honors

    Several Eastern Kentucky University students from LaRue County received honors for the Fall 2015 semester.

    EKU students from LaRue County that were named to the President’s List were Kaelyn Rene Herrin, Christian Carl Pope, James Ford and Sean-Michael Wathen. James Ford also received the Dean’s Award.

    “We are always pleased to recognize outstanding academic achievement at Eastern Kentucky University,” said EKU President Michael Benson.

  • LCMS Mathcounts team places third in OKH Chapter competition
  • School Calendar - February 24, 2016

    LaRue County Schools make-up days

    Make up days are scheduled for March 11, May 6, May 19, May 20, May 23 and May 24. The last day of school is May 25

    KHIC Wee Time

  • LaRue students participate in All-state Junior choir

    Five students from LaRue County were recently selected and performed in a state choir.

    The Kentucky Junior High Chorus (KJHC) is comprised of the Kentucky Junior High Mixed Chorus (KJHMC) and the Kentucky Junior High Treble Chorus (KJHTC). There were over 1,100 seventh grade through ninth grade students across the state of Kentucky that auditioned to be a member of either all state choir and only a few over 400 was selected.

  • School Calendar - February 17, 2016

    LaRue County Schools make-up days

    Make up days are scheduled for March 11, May 6, May 19, May 20, May 23 and May 24. The last day of school is May 24, which will be an early release day.

    KHIC Wee Time

  • Personnel changes at LaRue County Schools - February 17, 2016

    The LaRue County Board of Education reviewed several personnel changes at their February meeting.


    Jacinta Perkins as Guidance Counselor at ALES.

    Amy Duvall as Food Service Assistant II for LCS.

    Ellis Fraser as Assistant Speech Coach for LCHS.

    Callie Skaggs as Part-Time Exceptional Education Teacher at HES.


    Clarissa Thomas as Guidance Counselor at ALES.

    Bruce Arnett as Head Football Coach for LCMS.

    Carrie Garnett as a Teacher at HES.

  • LCHS students earn statewide awards for computing

    Two LaRue County High School students have earned recognition from the Kentucky Affiliate National Center for Women and Information Technology (NCWIT).

    Symone Whalin, a junior at LCHS, received the NCWIT 2016 Award for Aspirations in Computing. Sophomore Marissa Kappel was runner up.

  • LCHS Beta students take third place in state Quiz Bowl

    Four LaRue County High School students recently attended the Kentucky Beta Club Convention in Louisville and finished third in the state Quiz Bowl.

    “This was the best finish in school history,” said Kendrick Bryan, LCHS Beta Club sponsor. “Placing third in Quiz Bowl is a major deal in the world of National Beta.”

    The team, which includes Rachel Sheffer, Bryce Lawler, Cole Constant and Skyler Hornback, was one of eight to compete, after participating in a written elimination round.

  • Duncan receives Bobby McDowell Award

    It seems only fitting that Marsha Duncan receive the Bobby McDowell Award of Excellence for Leadership and Community Service because her entire life has been an exemplar of those two qualities.

    While a student at LaRue County High School, the 1986 graduate was active in Teens Who Care and Future Homemakers of America. She was also very involved in her church, Salem Christian.

  • LaRue County School Career Fair