• Mentoring program a success at elementary school

    At the start of this school year, Hodgenville Elementary principal Sue Osborne met with guidance counselor David Walters about starting a mentoring program for her students.
    “I had seen it work in another district and had noticed how the students that participated looked forward to having a visit from another person in their life who took an interest in them and made them feel important,” Osborne said. “I have seen such an improvement in them, not only in academics, but also in attitude.”

  • Brockman Center hosts informational session on master's programs

     Campbellsville University’s Porter-Bouvette School of Business and Economics will host a series of informational sessions across the Commonwealth for the Master of Business Administration and Master of Arts in Organizational Leadership programs.

    An information session is available 5-7 p.m. May 10 in Hodgenville at Campbellsville University’s Brockman Education Center, room 110, located at 813 Old Elizabethtown Road.

  • Seven students named to Governor's Scholars program

     The LaRue County Board of Education met briefly Monday in what was one of the shortest meetings of the year. 

  • PHOTO: Wee Time fun
  • Bethlehem High School Honor Roll

    The following Bethlehem High School, Bardstown, students from LaRue County have been named to the Honor Roll for the third semester of the 2011-12 academic year.
    All A
    Skyler Frye, senior
    Stephen Plouvier, freshman
    Jesse Plouvier, sophomore

  • School Calendar updated 4-18-12

    Last day of school is May 16.

    Special meetings for principal selection
    The ALES site-based council will have a special meeting 5:30 p.m. April 18 for an anticipated principal selection vote to occur.

    ALES Advisory Council meeting
    The Abraham Lincoln Elementary Family Resource Center Advisory Council will meet 11 a.m. April 18 in the Conference Room at ALES. The public is invited to attend. For more information, call Machelle Durham at 358-4112.
    Site-based council schedule

  • Scholarships updated 4-18-12

    Leadership LaRue County

    The Leadership LaRue County Class of 2006-07 will offer a $500 scholarship to graduating seniors from LaRue County public, private or home schools. Adults wishing to begin an educational program may apply.

    Applicants must reside in LaRue County and enroll as a full-time student in either the Kentucky Community and Technical College system or a four-year college or university in Kentucky.

  • Applications for service award now being accepted

    LaRue County Community Education is accepting applications for the 2012 Community Education Service Award and the Judy Cox Community Spirit Award.
    “The Judy Cox Community Spirit Award is an honor that demonstrates a local person who displays a true servant’s heart with enthusiasm and a desire to make our community a better place through service,” said Vicki Devers, community education director. “The Community Education Service Award honors dedicated service, hard work and tireless effort in educating our community.”

  • School Board hears personnel changes

    The LaRue County Board of Education heard the following personnel changes at the April 16 meeting.

    Accepted recommendation of employment of:

    • Donald Pack as part-time custodian at LaRue County Middle School

    • Tiffany Lewis as volleyball coach at LCMS

    • Robert Keith Cruse as substitute custodian at the LaRue County School District

    • Andreana Peeler as instructional monitor at Kid's Crew

    Accepted the resignation of:

  • Students honored at District Science Fair

     The 2011-12 Elementary District Science Fair was April 5 at Abraham Lincoln Elementary. 

    Penny Cecil, LaRue County Elementary Curriculum Specialist, led the event where third through fifth grade student finalists from ALES and Hodgenville Elementary School competed. 

    The judges were Doris Jean Holleran and Andrea Greene of LaRue County Middle School and Elaine Mink, Missie Taylor and Jessica Smith, Dow Corning quality engineers.