• PHOTO: Outstanding Youth

     Austin Stillwell, Ashley Cottrell, and Michaela Rock recently represented LaRue County Farm Bureau in the Kentucky Farm Bureau District 3 Outstanding Youth and Talent Contests.

  • HES art show winners

    Three Hodgenville Elementary School students were honored to have their art shown and judged in two exhibitions.

    Former HES student, Haley Ferguson, won first place in the fourth-grade, in the Kentucky Art Education Association’s Artsonia contest, while Hunter Kirkland placed second in Kindergarten. Shianne Thompson was a finalist in the Artsonia, “Artist of the Week,” contest which had students’ works from across the nation. Shianne garnered 679 votes while the top prize ended up going to a student in Columbia, Missouri.

  • PHOTO: WKU honors LaRue scholars
  • PHOTO: HES honors vets
  • ALES HONOR ROLL - First Quarter 2013

    Abraham Lincoln Elementary School

    First Quarter

    “All A” Honor Roll

    Brooks Brackett, Carson Childress, Christopher Collord, Adara Dobson, Katelyn Eads, Layne Gribbins, Harper Hynes, Kaleb Miller, Evan Morris, Samantha Perkins, Isaiah Pruitt, Abby Riggs, Brittany Serrano, Brenna Southwood, Macy Stillwell, Haley Thompson, Mason Thompson, Biven Turner, Landon Wells, Gavin Whitehouse, Madison Wilmoth


    A-B Honor Roll

  • Speech team begins season with big wins

    The LaRue County High School Speech Team has begun the 2012-13 season with impressive showings the last two weekends.  

    Coaches Katy Blair Cecil and Bill Thompson expect nothing less from this team which has a “terrific mix of new blood and experienced veterans” according to Cecil.

  • ALES celebrates Red Ribbon Week

    Students and staff at Abraham Lincoln Elementary celebrated Red Ribbon Week Oct. 28 through Nov. 1 with a variety of drug awareness events.

  • PHOTO: Knowledge Masters
  • ON EDUCATING LARUE: Talk of the Hawk gets new look

    LaRue County High School’s online student publication, “Talk of the Hawk,” is sporting a new look this year.

    For several years, students published in a format that mimicked an actual print magazine with the readers digitally “turning pages.”

    Last year, students decided that they wanted a more "website" type presentation, according to their adviser, creative writing teacher and English department chair Summer Garris.

  • Graduates named Jeff Green Scholars

    Seven 2013 graduates of LaRue County High School have been named Senator Jeff Green Scholars by the Kentucky Higher Education Assistance Authority for outstanding academic performance in high school. Students earn this designation by achieving a 4.0 grade point average each year of high school and scoring at least a 28 composite on the ACT.

    Local students who earned this prestigious designation are Caleb Canter, Ryan Hornback, Cole Hughes, Christian Pope, James Reding, Kayla Skaggs and Tyler Skaggs.