• PHOTO: ECTC Choir
  • Volunteers needed for LaRue County Reads

     One of the largest volunteer programs at Abraham Lincoln Elementary is its LaRue County Reads group.

    Formed about eight years ago, this group of volunteer readers range in age from high school age to senior citizens. They dedicate a minimum of 30 minutes a week to read with a preselected student and often take on at least two children to mentor if their schedule allow.

  • PHOTO: Scholarship winners
  • Several graduate from Western Kentucky University

     Several local students earned degrees in December from Western Kentucky University.

    They are:

    Katie L. Brown, Buffalo, Bachelor of Science

    Jeffrey Carson, Buffalo, Interdisciplinary Studies (BIS)

    Jessica P. Cave, Hodgenville, Bachelor of Science

    Sara E. Davis, Hodgenville, Bachelor of Science

    Meredith S. Dickerson, Hodgenville, Bachelor of Science in Nursing

    Jimmie N. Fathergill, Hodgenville, Bachelor of Science

    Tracie L. Fathergill, Hodgenville, Bachelor of Science

  • Online BSN graduates fit program around family


    Beverly Rowland, director of Campbellsville University's RN to BSN program and assistant professor of nursing, said the lives of her first graduating class of online bachelor's of science in nursing (BSN) students were hectic and busy with obligations to family and community as well as to school. She had to remember that when only one of her five graduates was able to participate in the December 2013 commencement ceremony.

  • Weaver honored for teaching excellence

    LaRue County’s 2014 ExCEL Award winner is Traci Weaver, a teacher at Hodgenville Elementary School.
    The ExCEL Award, sponsored by WHAS11 and LG&E KU honors teachers who have shown excellence in the classroom.
    Weaver, a fourth-grade reading and science teacher who also coaches the Academic Team and Junior Beta Club, will be honored by her students and peers at a ceremony 9 a.m. March 26 at HES.

  • Two named to EKU's President's List

    Eastern Kentucky University has announced that 1,248 students earned President’s List honors for the fall semester.
    Local students honored are:
    • Christian Carl Pope of Hodgenville, a sophomore psychology major;
    • Russell Taylor Despain of Campbellsville, a senior aviation major at EKU;
    The President’s List was established by the University to recognize outstanding academic achievement. It is bestowed upon full-time undergraduate students who attain a perfect 4.0 grade point average for a semester.

  • School Calendar - Feb. 12, 2014

    ALES site-based council

    The ALES site-based decision-making council will meet 5:35 p.m. Feb. 24. For more information, call 270-358-4112.

    LCMS site-based council

    The LCMS site-based council meets at 4:30 p.m. on the third Monday of each month. For more information, call the school at 270-358-3196.

    Wee Time

  • ON EDUCATING LARUE: Joanna Newton accepts guidance counselor position

    Joanna Newton, LaRue County High School’s new guidance counselor, brings with her a great amount of experience in guiding others down their college and career paths.

    A lot of that experience was gained in higher education where she has worked for 10 years. 

  • LCMS Academic Team tops at Governor's Cup

    The LaRue County Middle School Academic Team placed first overall in regional Governor's Cup competition again this year after placing first in district competition in January.

    The Quick Recall Team placed first out of eight teams at Region and first out of five teams at District competition. Our Future Problem Solving Team placed second out of eight teams at Region and first out of four teams at District. Both teams will compete in State Governor's Cup Competition March 15-17.