• Seven students named to Governor's Scholars program

     The LaRue County Board of Education met briefly Monday in what was one of the shortest meetings of the year. 

  • PHOTO: Wee Time fun
  • Bethlehem High School Honor Roll

    The following Bethlehem High School, Bardstown, students from LaRue County have been named to the Honor Roll for the third semester of the 2011-12 academic year.
    All A
    Skyler Frye, senior
    Stephen Plouvier, freshman
    Jesse Plouvier, sophomore

  • School Calendar updated 4-18-12

    Last day of school is May 16.

    Special meetings for principal selection
    The ALES site-based council will have a special meeting 5:30 p.m. April 18 for an anticipated principal selection vote to occur.

    ALES Advisory Council meeting
    The Abraham Lincoln Elementary Family Resource Center Advisory Council will meet 11 a.m. April 18 in the Conference Room at ALES. The public is invited to attend. For more information, call Machelle Durham at 358-4112.
    Site-based council schedule

  • Scholarships updated 4-18-12

    Leadership LaRue County

    The Leadership LaRue County Class of 2006-07 will offer a $500 scholarship to graduating seniors from LaRue County public, private or home schools. Adults wishing to begin an educational program may apply.

    Applicants must reside in LaRue County and enroll as a full-time student in either the Kentucky Community and Technical College system or a four-year college or university in Kentucky.

  • Applications for service award now being accepted

    LaRue County Community Education is accepting applications for the 2012 Community Education Service Award and the Judy Cox Community Spirit Award.
    “The Judy Cox Community Spirit Award is an honor that demonstrates a local person who displays a true servant’s heart with enthusiasm and a desire to make our community a better place through service,” said Vicki Devers, community education director. “The Community Education Service Award honors dedicated service, hard work and tireless effort in educating our community.”

  • School Board hears personnel changes

    The LaRue County Board of Education heard the following personnel changes at the April 16 meeting.

    Accepted recommendation of employment of:

    • Donald Pack as part-time custodian at LaRue County Middle School

    • Tiffany Lewis as volleyball coach at LCMS

    • Robert Keith Cruse as substitute custodian at the LaRue County School District

    • Andreana Peeler as instructional monitor at Kid's Crew

    Accepted the resignation of:

  • Students honored at District Science Fair

     The 2011-12 Elementary District Science Fair was April 5 at Abraham Lincoln Elementary. 

    Penny Cecil, LaRue County Elementary Curriculum Specialist, led the event where third through fifth grade student finalists from ALES and Hodgenville Elementary School competed. 

    The judges were Doris Jean Holleran and Andrea Greene of LaRue County Middle School and Elaine Mink, Missie Taylor and Jessica Smith, Dow Corning quality engineers.

  • Benningfield earns Conservation District Scholarship

    Michelle Benningfield, daughter of James and Donna Benningfield of Hodgenville, is the recipient of the LaRue County Conservation District Scholarship.
    She is a graduating senior at LaRue County High School and an active FFA member, serving as chapter reporter this year.
    She plans to attend Western Kentucky University and major in animal science and pre-veterinary medicine. Her goal is to become a veterinarian specializing in large animal medicine.
    The Conservation District is providing $1,000 toward her educational goals.

  • Preschoolers learn about bus safety

    One of the first symbols that small children associate with starting school is the big yellow school bus.
    But taking that first giant step inside one of the massive 72-seaters can be intimidating to the average 4-year-old.
    About 40 children, along with their parents, grandparents or caregivers, had the chance Thursday to take a short ride in a school bus and learn a few tips about bus safety. Abraham Lincoln Elementary hosted the program for preschoolers in “Wee Time” and “Kindergarten Here I Come.”