• MHS Class of 1952 Reunion
  • School calendar - August 30, 2017

    KHIC Wee Time

  • LaRue Co. student receives full tuition to ECTC
  • LCS students enjoy the eclipse

    Last week’s solar eclipse brought lasting memories to the hundreds of LaRue County students who viewed the event. Though all watched the same moon moving between earth and sun, the effect that experience had on the students varied as greatly as the students themselves.

    Ryan Hines, a sophomore at LaRue County High School, said he had been looking forward to the eclipse because he already had an interest in space.

  • 4-H Calendar - August 30, 2017

    Wranglers Club

    The LaRue County 4-H Wranglers Club will meet at 7 p.m. on Tuesday, September 5 at the LaRue County Extension Office. New members are welcome to attend

    Poultry Club

    The LaRue County 4-H Poultry Club will meet from 3:30 to 5 p.m. on Wednesday, September 6 at the LaRue County Extension Office at 270-358-3401. Any youth with an interest in poultry are invited to attend.

     4-H Conference

  • LCHS student accepts challenge to be an entrepreneur

    Cam Lasley, a senior at LaRue County High School, son of Doug and Nancy Lasley, spent three weeks of his summer break working on a business idea with four other students at the Kentucky Governor’s School for Entrepreneurs (GSE).

    He and 60 other students were part of a resident program to study entrepreneurship at Transylvania University in Lexington.

  • School calendar August 23, 2017


    The Abraham Lincoln Elementary School SBDM will meet at 3:30 p.m. on Monday, August 21 to replace the regular scheduled meeting that had to be cancelled on August 14.

    LaRue County School Board

    The LaRue County School Board meets at 7 p.m. on the third Monday of each month at the LCHS Media Center.


    The Hodgenville Elementary School site-based decision- making council meets at 4:30 p.m. on the second Monday of each month in the conference room. For more information, call the school, 270-358-3506.

  • Ten students from LaRue Co. named Sen. Green Scholars

    Ten 2017 graduates of LaRue County High School have been named Senator Jeff Green Scholars by the Kentucky Higher Education Assistance Authority (KHEAA). To earn this honor, a student must have a 4.0 grade point average each year of high school and at least a 28 composite on the ACT.

    Local scholars are Jacob Cecil, Seth DeVary, Bryan Downs, Airyl Heath, Celeste Menard, Seth Newby, Lindsey Shelton, Virginia Taylor, Zoie Webb and Symone Whalin.

  • Larue county schools Personnel changes

    The LaRue County Board of Education reviewed several personnel changes at their August meeting.

    Accepted the Recommendation of Employment of:

    Yvonne Fay as Special Education Teacher at HES.

    Connie Penalvert as 3-Hour Instructional Assistant at HES.

    Sherry Polly as 3-Hour Instructional Assistant at HES.

    Lynn Ann Waddle as 3-Hour Instructional Assistant at HES.

    Melissa Porter as 3-Hour Instructional Assistant at HES.

    Jordan Atwell as 3.5 Hour Instructional Assistant at HES.

  • Technology through the years at schools

    Looking back over the years to compare audio-visual aids teachers had in my elementary school days in the 1950s to those in today’s classroom, the difference is a lot like Bob Dylan’s lyrics, “The Times They Are A-Changing.”

    The time-tested and proven instructional tools back in the middle of the last century were basically three: chalk, eraser, and blackboard.