Turnout heavy for today's election

-A A +A

Polls are open until 6 p.m.

By The Staff

Election Day has arrived and LaRue County  showed up.


Four precincts gathered in the first floor of the LaRue County Courthouse report steady business with occasional lines in the morning and around the lunch hour. Meanwhile, voters have been lined outside of Hodgenville City Hall all day where the Hodgenville West precinct votes.

Polls are open until 6 p.m. People in line at 6 will be allowed to vote.

While much of the attention focuses on the presidential race, several local positions also will be decided today.

Nine people are vying for seats on Hodgenville City Council. The six incumbents, Otis Smith, Wally Sparks, Eudell Stearman, Jim Phelps, Rita Williams and Kenny Devore, plus newcomers Mitchell Key, Tom Rossi and Bonni L. Clark are seeking the position.

Three school board seats are up for grabs.

In District 1, Norbert Skees and Kenley Conner, both of Hodgenville, compete for the seat vacated by Denny Duggins. The district includes Lyons and Hodgenville West.

In District 2, incumbent Ronnie Chelf faces a challenge by Arthur Hawkins. Both men have Hodgenville addresses. The district includes Hodgenville East and White City.

In District 4, incumbent Price Smith of Hodgenville is challenged by John Veague of Sonora. The district includes Barren Run, Upton and Magnolia.

Four people have filed to run as Upton City Commissioners. Upton is represented by both LaRue and Hardin County residents, as the town straddles the county line.

The candidates are Chris Hines of LaRue County; Kim Ash, Ashley Waters and Louis A. White, all of Hardin County.

State races

Incumbent U.S. Sen. Republican Mitch McConnell is challenged by Democrat Bruce Lunsford.

Republican S. Brett Guthrie and Democrat David E. Boswell are competing for the second congressional district seat vacated by Ron Lewis.