Three file in mayor’s race

-A A +A
By Linda Ireland

The deadline for candidates to file for nonpartisan races was 4 p.m. Aug. 12.

Candidates drew Thursday afternoon for position on the ballot. They are listed as their names will appear on the ballot.

Three people have filed for mayor of Hodgenville: James Phelps Jr.; Kenny DeVore and Greg Harry.

Two people have filed for school board: Farrah L. Pruitt in District 3 – Lincoln Farm and Buffalo; and Joanna Hinton in District 5 – Hodgenville, Otter, Atilla and Mount Sherman).

All six seats on Hodgenville City Council are up for grabs for two-year terms. Those who have filed are Mitchell Key, Larry Davis, Donald G. Costello, Woodie Handley, Thomas Rossi, Sharon Hornback and Bonni Clark.

Other filings:

Upton City Commissioner: Melissa Smith

Mayor of Upton: Chris Hines

Soil and Water Conservation Board: Mark Howell, Mark Rock, William “Billy” Curle (three seats available)

Other races to be settled in November are:

Incumbent magistrate Ronald Dale Nunn, a Democrat, is being challenged by Republican Stanley L. “Roy” Ray in District 3.

Democrat Ronnie Chelf is unopposed in the District 2 constable race.

Joe Allen, the incumbent constable in District 3, faces Mike Stillwell, a Republican, in the fall.

Democrat Paul T. Massie will face Republican Nicholas O. Yount for constable in District 4.

In the state representative race, incumbent Terry Mills of Lebanon, faces a challenge from Republican J. Alex LaRue of Hodgenville. The winner will serve the 24th district of LaRue, Green and Marion counties.

Those unopposed in the November General Election are County Clerk Linda Carter, County Coroner Todd R. Skaggs, Jailer Johnny Cottrill, Constable District 1 Ira Bloyd Jr., Magistrate District 1 – Gary “Tony” Stewart, Magistrate District 2 – Ricky Whitlock, Circuit Judge District 10, Division 1, Charles C. Simms III and Circuit Judge District 10, Division 2, John David “Jack” Seay, all Democrats.

LaRue County Judge/executive Tommy Turner does not have a Republican opponent this fall.

Several other Democrats are unopposed: Kyle Williamson, candidate for county attorney, Russell McCoy, candidate for sheriff, Larry Howell, candidate for District 5 magistrate, and Scotty Lee, candidate for property valuation administrator.

The General Election is Nov. 4. The last day to register to vote in the election is Oct. 6.