Superintendent sets goals for district

-A A +A

Athletes, sppech team among honorees at board meeting

By Ashley Zsedenyi

The March meeting of the LaRue County School Board not only saw the vote for the Laptops of LaRue 21st century learning initiative, but the board also took action on other matters.

The board:

•Approved the Governmental Accounting Standards Board 54 Classification for laptop initiative funds, which reclassified the $1 million set aside in the general fund as “committed” to the laptop initiative, that way it cannot be taken back by the state.

•Approved reclassifying the $565,016.16 Federal Qualified Zone Academy Bonds  repayment funds set aside in the general fund, plus future interest earned on the CD, as “committed” to the repayment of the QZAB offer

•Approved a shortened school day request for a special needs student.

•Approved the consent agenda, including the treasurer’s report; Red Cross shelter agreement; and a request to solicit beverage bid.

Superintendent Sam Sanders also presented three goals:

•The LaRue County Schools be recognized as the preeminent school district in the state of Kentucky for performance excellence by receiving the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award by August 2013

•By May 2012 there will be an increase of 25 percent, (by a baseline established in May 2010) the value the citizens of LaRue County place on every child receiving a quality education

•Develop board policy and procedures by Feb. 1, 2011 that creates a student talent profile that will increase student growth and engagement by allowing students to fulfill the basic requirements and focus on their area of strengths.

The school board also offered several recognitions during the March board meeting, including LaRue County High School wrestlers for placing fifth at state as a team, as well as wrestlers from the middle and elementary schools; the LCMS MATHCounts team; LCHS boys' basketball team, 18th District champions, as well as several players for receiving all-district and all tournament honors; the LCHS speech team for numerous awards won; and the Campbellsville University Excellence in Teaching Award recipients for 2010, Mitzi Allen, Joe Reed and Jorge Venegas.