State Wrestling Tournament Final

-A A +A

LaRue County High School’s wrestling team finished 41st out of 88 teams in the KHSAA State Wrestling Tournament held Friday and Saturday at the Kentucky Horse Park in Lexington.

Union County won the tourney, followed by Campbell County, Trinity, St. Xavier and Woodford County.

Six Mat Hawks accumulated 20 points in the tournament: eighth-graders Dalton Bell, Noah Davis and Griffin Dulak; sophomore Ed Hernandez; junior Koy Lindsey; and senior Raymundo Perez.

The team struggled with injuries and vacant weight classes throughout the season.


Individual results

106 - Dalton Bell

Championship Round 1 - Bell won by major decision over Bailey Bixler (Franklin County), 13-3

Championship Round 2 - Bell won by decision over Luis Regalado (Fort Campbell), 13-10

Quarterfinal - Austin Cook (St. Xavier) won by major decision over Bell, 16-5

Consolation Round 4 - Michael Mattox (Harrison County) won by decision over Bell, 7-0



132 - Noah Davis

Championship Round 1 - Brock Ervin (Union County) won by fall over Davis (Fall 1:03)

Consolation Round - Chris Morrow (Madison Central) won by fall over Davis (Fall 1:17)


138 - Raymundo Perez

Championship Round 1 - Perez won by decision over Elisha Mutayongwa (Tates Creek), 9-6

Championship Round 2 - Benjamin Barton (Trinity, Louisville) won by decision over Perez, 5-3

Consolation Round 2 - Perez won by fall over Elijah Jackson (Simon Kenton) (Fall 4:11)

Consolation Round 3 - Brian Hedrick (Fort Campbell) won by decision over Perez, Dec 6-1


145 - Griffin Dulak

Championship Round 1 - Dulak won by decision over Nick Smart (St. Xavier), 8-4

Championship Round 2 - Dulak won by fall over Austin Phillips (Anderson County)(Fall 5:05)

Quarterfinal - Michael Whalen (Henry Clay) won by fall over Dulak (Fall 1:17)

Consolation Round 4 - Jack Dorne won by fall over Dulak (Fall 2:22)


182 - Ed Hernandez

Championship Round 1 - Gino Haywood (Fort Campbell) won by fall over  Hernandez (Fall 3:02)

Consolation Round 1 - Christian Bowling (Montgomery County) won by tech fall over Hernandez, 18-2


195 - Koy Lindsey

Championship Round 1 - Lindsey won by major decision over Kajwan Major (Christian County), 12-4

Championship Round 2 - Mark Saunders (Bullitt Central) won by decision over Lindsey, 10-8

Consolation Round 2 - Lindsey won by decision over Francisco Perez (Franklin County), 5-0

Consolation Round 3 - Alex McIntosh (Oldham County) won by fall over Lindsey (Fall 3:23)