State Convention a success for LaRue County Future Farmers of America

-A A +A

LaRue County FFA attended the 85th state convention. Several members were honored for contests held at region; others competed in state contests.


The organization was recognized as a Gold Rated chapter and one of the top 15 chapters in the state. It now receives a National Rating.

Six members received their state FFA degree – the highest degree awarded by the state to the organization. They are: Kyle DeVary, Kyle Edlin, Branden Pepper, Vickie Rhinehart, Sarah Stults and Austin Stillwell.

Stillwell was a state officer candidate.

The following members competed at convention or were present and recognized for regional wins:

• Farm Management Team – Aaron Elswick, Montana Metcalf and Danielle Nunn

• Nursery and Landscape Impromptu – Sarah Stults

• Record Keeping – James Robert Absher, Justin Hornback, Carey Coffey and Cristine Shive

• Agricultural Communications Proficiency – Emma Shelton

• Agricultural Processing Proficiency – Forrest Durham

• Agricultural Services Proficiency – Curtis Pepper

• Beef Production/Placement Proficiency – Curtis Pepper

• Diversified Crop Production/Placement Proficiency – Branden Pepper

• Fiber and/or Oil Crop Production Proficiency – Turner Cottrell

• Specialty Animal Production Proficiency – Vickie Rhinehart

• Wildlife Management Proficiency – Hunter Thomas

• Ag Research/Animal Proficiency – Hunter Thomas

• Ag Research/Integrated Systems Proficiency – Felicia Hornback

Agriscience Fair:

• Plant Science Division 3 – Lexi Smith and Levi Goodin

• Social Systems Division 3 – Brittany Blair and Carey Coffey

• Animal Systems Division 3 – Eli Williams and Dalton Hornback

• Animal Systems 4 – Turner Cottrell and Felicia Hornback

• Food Science Division 4 – Sarah Stults and Austin Stillwell

• Agricultural Mechanics Repair and Maintenance/Entrepreneurship Proficiency – Lane Meredith, state winner

• Food Science and Technology Proficiency – Forrest Durham, state winner

• Forest Management and Products Proficiency – Jared Whitlock, state winner

• Grain Production/Placement Proficiency – Branden Pepper, state winner

• Branden Pepper – Soy Snapshot state winner of $1,000

• AIC – Aaron Elswick, fourth place

Agricultural Communications – state winner

• Keeahana Bowen, Jacob Hurt and Cayleigh Allen (state high individual)

Food Science and Technology – state winner

• Hunter Thomas, Chloe Owen, Morgan Durham, and Forrest Durham (state high individual)

Milk Quality and Products – state winner

• Branden Pepper, Curtis Pepper, Lane Meredith, and Emma Shelton (state high individual)

Agriscience Fair:

• Food Science Division 1 – Chasity Bryant, state winner

• Food Science Division 3 – Lindsey Shelton and Cristine Shive, state winner

• Animal Systems Division 2 – Hunter Thomas, state winner

• Branden Pepper – State top 5 in Star in Agricultural Placement

• Vickie Rhinehart – State top 5 in Star in Agribusiness