R. Brent Wright, M.D. named to KMA board of trustees

-A A +A

 R. Brent Wright, M.D., formerly of LaRue County, was elected to the Kentucky Medical Association Board of Trustees during the 2011 KMA Annual Meeting in September.

Wright will represent the KMA 6th District, which includes 11 counties: Adair, Allen, Barren, Butler, Cumberland, Edmonson, Logan, Metcalfe, Monroe, Simpson, and Warren.

His term began immediately upon being elected and will expire in September 2014. Wright is a graduate of the University of Louisville School of Medicine and holds certification from the American Board of Family Practice. He is the medical director of T.J. Samson Family Medicine Center and the Director of the Family Medicine Residency Program at the University of Louisville School of Medicine in Glasgow, where he also serves as an Associate Professor and Vice-Chair for Rural Health within the University's Department of Family and Geriatric Medicine.

“I could not be more excited about Dr. Wright's election to the KMA Board of Trustees,” said Dr. Shawn Jones, President of the KMA. “He is a valuable addition to the Board due to the breadth and depth of his experience and there is no question the 6th District will be well served.”

Besides being a member of KMA, where he has previously served as chair of the Young Physicians Steering Committee and Reference Committee, Dr. Wright is a member of the American Medical Association, American College of Physician Executives, American Telemedicine Association, Barren County Medical Society, Association of Family Medicine Residency Directors, Society of Teachers of Family Medicine, American Academy of Family Physicians, and Kentucky Academy of Family Physicians, where he served as President.

He is the recipient of numerous awards and honors, most notably the 2010 Kentucky Medical Association Educational Achievement Award.