New Haven selects commissioners

-A A +A
By Lydelle Abbott

Two incumbents and two newcomers will fill the seats on the New Haven Board of Commissioners for the next two years. New Haven residents had five choices to fill the city’s four seats on the Board of Commissioners.

Incumbents Bob Johnson and Michael Wolf and challengers John Ray Ball and Freddy Mouser were voted to the positions of commissioner.

Precincts voting in this race include part of New Haven Public School and St. Catherine School.

Ball, a first-time candidate, received 244 votes. A maintenance supervisor for Nelson County Schools, his top priority is to increase New Haven’s population.

Johnson received 234 votes and will serve his second term on the board. A retired New Haven Chief of Police, Johnson is the president of the Rolling Fork Fire Department Board of Directors. His top priority is “to keep what we’ve got in good shape.”

Mouser received 218 votes. A former three-term board member, Mouser is currently unemployed. He is part of the St. Catherine Finance committee, pastoral committee, maintenance committee and Knights of Columbus. His top priorities include bringing small industry and growth to the community and keeping expenses low for residents.

Wolf received 205 votes and will serve his second term on the council. An employee of Heaven Hill, Wolf’s top priority is upkeep of the recreation department.

Alan Thompson, a former two-term board member, received 137 votes and was not elected.