LCHS delegation honored in Louisville

-A A +A

The LaRue County High School delegation had an award-winning experience and a special visitor at the biannual Kentucky Youth Assembly. LCHS attended the Nov. 20-22 session.
KYA is an experiential learning conference held in Frankfort and Louisville. The program is sponsored by the Kentucky YMCA Youth Assocation. Overall, 45 delegations registered for the conference. State Representative Michael Meredith met with LCHS students in Frankfort on Nov. 21.
The LCHS delegation consisted of 19 students and two advisors: Brian Anderson, Cayleigh Allen, Mackenzie Bradley, Caleb Canter, James Crosswhite, Cole Hughes, Allyson Hutchins, Jacob Hurt, Jonathan Firquin, Miranda Hornback, Ryan Hornback, Anne McCubbin, Carby Mather, Melika Menard, Nick Paden, James Reding, Amarah Reed, Tyler Skaggs and John Slack served in a number of roles.
Anderson, the son of Heath and Kimberly Anderson; Hughes, son of Eric and Angela Hughes; and Reding, son of Mark and Barb Reding, picked up individual honors.
Anderson and Reding were recognized as Outstanding Speakers and Hughes was honored as an Outstanding Delegate.
Anderson and Reding also received invitations to the YMCA Youth Conference on National Affairs, which will be held in July.
Hughes authored a bill with Canter, Ryan Hornback and Skaggs. The legislation aimed to reform how Kentucky allocates electoral votes in a presidential election. The bill reached the governor’s desk, but it was vetoed by Gage Richardson of Trinity High School.
Hutchins, Hurt, Menard and Paden also authored legislation. Reed and Miranda Hornback served as media members. Kendrick Bryan and Ben Schell advised the group at the conference. Dee Hutchins also helped prepare the authors before the trip.
The LCHS delegation won the One Giant Leap award for substantial improvement from the previous year. LCHS did not send a delegation in 2010.
LCHS won the Statesmanship award in 2009 because of the group’s overall quality of contribution to debate.