LaRue qualifies for disaster unemployment assistance

-A A +A

In all, 62 Kentucky counties are eligible

By The Staff

Officials from the Kentucky Education and Workforce Development Cabinet and the Federal Emergency Management Agency announced that 62 Kentucky counties, including LaRue, are qualified for Disaster Unemployment Assistance.

Kentuckians who have lost work or whose businesses were damaged due to severe weather May 1-June 1, 2010, may be eligible for unemployment insurance benefits.

Farmers and self-employed people, who are not eligible for regular unemployment insurance benefits, may qualify for disaster unemployment assistance, according to the Office of Employment and Training (OET), an agency of the Education and Workforce development Cabinet. Disaster unemployment is funded by FEMA.

All regular unemployment insurance benefits must be exhausted prior to receiving any disaster unemployment benefits. Applications can be filed at local OET offices.

Deadline to apply is July 15. For more information on the qualifications, eligibility and documentation needed to be, visit www.educationcabinet.ky.gov or www.workforce.ky.gov.