LaRue park hosts 10U state tournament

-A A +A
By Linda Ireland

Several hundred people are expected to visit LaRue County this week for the West Kentucky Cal Ripken 10U State Tournament.

Sixteen teams from around the state will play a total of 31 games at LaRue County Park and Recreation.

Pool play begins Wednesday July 16. The championship game is 4:15 p.m. July 20.

LaRue County is in the “A” pool with Germantown, Jeffersontown and Barren County. LaRue plays against Germantown at 6 p.m. Wednesday, and against Jeffersontown at 9 p.m. Friday, July 18.

Other teams are Pool B – Green County, McClean County, Meade County and Prairie Village; Pool C – Elizabethtown, Fern Creek, Hancock County and Okolona; and Pool D – Breckinridge County, Henderson County, Scottsville and Saint Matthews.

LaRue players are Noah Grey, Jackson Carpenter, Curtis Ford, Kellen Bowen, Junior Vasquez, Samuel Bowling, Hayden Cleveland, Zane Constant, Brice Firquin, Dillon Wayne, Brandon Hollis and Dylan Thompson. Coaches are Jerry McBride, Vince Carpenter, Shannon Bowen and Dennis Bowling.

“We’d like to invite the community to attend to see some great baseball and enjoy the great weather that is being forecasted,” said Eric DeVary of the Park and Rec board. “We would like to also thank the community as we know LaRue County will welcome all the visitors that will be attending this event (with 16 teams playing we are looking for several thousand to attend). We fully expect this event to have a positive impact for our Park as well as all our local restaurants and various businesses.”

DeVary plans to take copies of the brackets to Hodgenville restaurants so they can be prepared for the extra patrons.

Admission is $4 per person for ages 13 and up (12-and-under are free).

Parking is available at LaRue County Park and Recreation (behind LaRue County Middle School) and the Lady Hawks’ softball field.

July 16 and 17: Four pool games starting at 6 p.m. and 8 p.m.

July 18: Eight pool games starting at 3, 5, 7 and 9 p.m.

July 19: Twelve games starting at 10 a.m., going through 8 p.m. (tournament play)

July 20: Three games, semifinal at 11 a.m. and 1 p.m. with championship game starting at 4:15 p.m.