LaRue joins Marion, Green in 24th District

-A A +A
By Linda Ireland

The House passed a plan Wednesday to redraw district boundaries that place LaRue County in a legislative district with Marion and Green counties (24th District).

For the last 10 years, LaRue has been in the 19th district with Edmonson and Hart Counties.

Redistricting is required every 10 years to reflect changes in population counts outlined by the U.S. Census Bureau. The legislature, however, has been in limbo on the issue since the Kentucky Supreme Court ruled the original House and Senate plans unconstitutional because they were unbalanced and divided counties too harshly.

The state grew from 4 million to 4.3 million residents between 2000 and 2010, but the influx was centered in the central part of the state as the eastern and western areas lost residents.

LaRue County will gain a new representative as Republican Rep. Michael Meredith, an Edmonson County resident, has been moved into a district with Warren County precincts.

Terry Mills, a Democrat from Lebanon (Marion County), has won two elections in a strong Republican district. In the new 24th District, Democrats outnumber Republicans almost 2-1.