LaRue included in ag-assistance program

-A A +A

Rep. Guthrie announces emergency funding

By The Staff

The U.S. Department of Agriculture declared  LaRue and 14 other counties in the Second Congressional District eligible for agriculture emergency assistance for damage caused by the storms that hit the area starting May 1.

U.S. Rep. Brett Guthrie, who sent a letter in early May to Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack requesting a prompt review for agriculture emergency assistance, announced the designation Friday.

In addition to LaRue , other counties eligible for assistance are Barren, Breckinridge, Daviess, Edmonson, Grayson, Green, Hancock, Hardin, Hart, Marion, Ohio, Taylor, Warren and Washington.

For more information, contact Kentucky’s Farm Service Agency office at (859) 224-7601 or visit FSA’s website at www.fsa.usda.gov.