LaRue County remains in 5th Senate District

-A A +A
By Linda Ireland

The Kentucky legislature approved redistricting plans for the state House of Representatives and Senate for the second time in two years.
The new districts were signed into law by Gov. Steve Beshear.

“I expect these maps will withstand legal scrutiny, so all Kentuckians can be assured of appropriate representation in the General Assembly,” Beshear said in a press statement.

The General Assembly included an emergency provision so that the new districts took effect as soon as they were signed into law.

LaRue County remains in the 5th Senatorial District along with Meade, Breckinridge, Grayson, Edmonson and Hart Counties.

Last year’s plan – that was blocked in court – to move LaRue to the 9th District would have given the county a new representative in both the Senate and House.

Senator Carroll Gibson of Grayson County will continue to represent LaRue but will lose Butler and Hancock Counties. His term expires in 2016.