FFA candidates promoted to Greenhand

-A A +A
By The Staff

On Oct. 14, 52 Greenhand degree candidates and 15 Chapter degree candidates were promoted. Congratulations to all newly promoted members. Kentucky State FFA President Quint Pottinger spoke at the ceremony. Pottinger graduated from LCHS in 2006.

The Greenhand Degree is the first degree of membership in the FFA. This is a big step in a young member’s FFA career. The candidates are Dustin Allen, Nathan Atwell, Emily Beismer, Damon Bell, Michelle Benning-field, Ashley Bland, Greg Booker, Desarae Comstock, Calvin Dohn, David Durham, Thomas Eddy, Brittany Enlow, Nick Fancher, Emily Farrar, Katie Gardner, Mason Grubbs, Jason Harmon, Jesse Hornback, Tiffany Hughes, Brandon Jewell, James King Jr., Sierra Lafollette, Megan Larrison, Eli Meredith, Jacob Meredith, Whitney Meredith, Eddie Peake, Joshua Pearman, Cheyenne Perkins, Billy Pittman, Sara Preston, Jamie Price, Bernard Ray, Jordan Reynolds, Dakota Schmidt, Valerie Sherrard, Michael Sidebottom, T.J. Skaggs, Miranda Smallwood, Doc Tharp, Katie Thompson, Tiffany Underwood, Caitlin Veirs, Andrew Webb, David Webb, Caleb Whelan, Sadie Williams, Trent Wilmoth, Emilee Witt, and Jacob Witt. All of the candidates are invited to participate in a quiz contest. The contest content comes from FFA history and rules of order. This year’s winner was Megan Larrison. The candidates are also invited to participate in a creed contest which is where the members must memorize the National FFA Creed. Eli Meredith was this year’s winner.

The next degree that can be presented by the chapter is the chapter degree. The candidates are as follows Lorrie Aulbach, Nathan Bowman, Lauren Clark, Shelby Floyd, Cody Howell, Michael Lawless, Michelle Locklin, Renea Sheroan, Matt Smith, Abby Sullivan, Shelby Sullivan, Miranda Sutherland, and Kaleb Redmon.

The FFA attended the National FFA Convention last week in Indianapolis.