Conservation District honors several at banquet

-A A +A
By Linda Ireland

 Several residents were honored at the LaRue County Water and Soil Conservation District banquet last month.


Preston Self, a fourth-grader at Hodgenville Elementary School, won the Jim Claypool Conservation Art contest for the second consecutive year at the school and district level, going on to win region.

Self, the son of Jamie and Carrie Self, was presented a plaque and will receive additional awards from Kentucky Farm Bureau, co-host of the contest.

His art teacher, Cara Holt, said the district consists of 12 counties with about 45,000 entries. 

“He was one of 12 students from the state whose artwork was sent to Frankfort,” Holt said. “He got to go there and meet with the head of the conservation department last Thursday.”

“The LCCD Board was quite proud of Preston,” said Michelle Ogden, district coordinator. “LaRue County hasn’t had a regional winner in some time. They wanted to present him with their own plaque celebrating his accomplishment at the banquet.”

Haley Ferguson was the school’s second place winner; Darian Morrison was third.

The state winner was Grace Adams of Henry County.

The Jim Claypool Art Contest has recognized student work for several decades. The contest is for first through fifth grades.

Writing contest

Hope Farrar, a student at LaRue County High School, was the school’s and county’s winner of the Conservation Writing Contest for grades six through 12. She received a cash award. Clarissa Baker was second; Nicole Larrison was third.

Brea Kirkpatrick, a student at LaRue County Middle School, won the school’s writing contest. Kristen Williams was second; Natalie Wolf was third.


Dennis Cruse was named Cooperator of the Year by the district.

The banquet was highlighted by a visit from Karen Woodrich of the National Resources Conservation Service.