Committee to present district facilities plan to school board

-A A +A
By Linda Ireland

 Each school district in Kentucky is required by law to develop a local district facilities plan every four years.

Since January, a committee has been meeting to determine the most pressing needs of LaRue County Schools – and how the district can use state-provided funds effectively.

Wednesday, a public hearing was held at the high school to gather comments about the proposed plan. Superintendent Sam Sanders, a non-voting member of the committee, and a reporter from The LaRue County Herald News were the only ones present.

The capital construction priorities include construction of three classrooms to Abraham Lincoln Elementary School; and four classrooms and a 1,000-square-feet cafeteria addition at Hodgenville Elementary School.

Another construction priority for LCHS is a 14,400-square-feet gym with weight room at an estimated cost of $4.8 million; an agriculture learning lab and greenhouse at estimated cost of $332,647; four classrooms; three resource rooms; and 1,000-square-feet cafeteria addition.

Priorities for LaRue County Middle School are parking, roof replacement, electrical, plumbing and ADA accessibility.

The committee listed also construction, acquisition or renovation of central offices and bus garages. A new 10,000-square-feet central office facility has an estimated construction cost of $2.8 million.

Discretionary construction projects were listed as major renovation of football field house at a cost of $1.6 million; bleachers for baseball, softball, soccer and tennis; a football stadium with press box, fencing and scoreboard at estimated cost of $800,000; band tower; wrestling room; tennis court lighting and additional courts; and lights on the soccer field.

The committee listed three items for discretionary projects for each school: five outdoor classrooms, walking trails and marquee digital signage.

Sanders said the list would be forwarded to the state after it is approved by the school board.

LCHS Principal Paul Mullins, chairman of the committee, said the group worked well together. Kentucky Board of Education representatives and architects provided information about construction concerns and financial aspects of the projects.

“I think they were well-informed going into it,” said Mullins.

The Kentucky Department of Education will prioritize the needs listed in the plan.  

Other members of the committee are Kristi Ard, Derek Ford, Gerald Devary and David Brown, parents; Diane Morris, David Walters, Michael Collins and David Dawson, teachers; Penny Cecil, Amanda Reed, Sue Osborne, Bob Bright and Mullins, building administrators; Phil Fulkerson, district facility director; Denise Skaggs, central office; Dawn Conner, Dale Morris and Bob Sims, community/business; and Mike Hornback, board member.