Candidates file for fall election

-A A +A

School board, city council seats to be decided

By Linda Ireland

Nine people are vying for seats on Hodgenville City Council.

All six incumbents, Otis Smith, Wally Sparks, Eudell Stearman, Jim Phelps, Rita Williams and Kenny Devore, filed for office with the LaRue County Clerk’s office. They are challenged by Mitchell Key, Tom Rossi and Bonni L. Clark.

City council representatives are elected every two years.

School board

Two incumbent school board members face challenges this fall. A third, Denny Duggins, chose not to run for re-election in District 1.

Norbert Skees and Kenley Conner, both of Hodgenville, have filed to run for the District One seat. The district includes Lyons and Hodgenville West.

In District 2, incumbent Ronnie Chelf faces a challenge by Arthur Hawkins. Both men have Hodgenville addresses. The district includes Hodgenville East and White City.

In District 4, incumbent Price Smith of Hodgenville is challenged by John Veague of Sonora. The district includes Barren Run, Upton and Magnolia.

School board members are elected to four-year terms.

Upton City Commissioners

Four people have filed to run as Upton City Commissioners. Upton is represented by both LaRue and Hardin County residents, as the town straddles the county line.

The candidates are Chris Hines of LaRue County; Kim Ash, Ashley Waters and Louis A. White, all of Hardin County.Soil and Water Conservation Board

Four people have filed for the four available seats on the Soil and Water Conservation District Board. They are William Mattingly and James Martin Tharp, both of Sonora; and Lanny Highbaugh and Steve McCubbin, both of Hodgenville.

The last day to file for local office was Aug. 12. The general election is Nov. 4.