4-H recognizes youth achievements

-A A +A

Awards receipients announced


Numerous 4-H members and volunteers were recognized at the annual 4-H awards banquet.


Based on points earned for 4-H activities completed during the 2008-09 4-H year, Mere­dith Heath was the 2009 Outstanding Senior 4-H Member for ages 14-18.

Based on the same point system, Hallie Mad­riaga was recognized as the 2009 Out­standing Junior Division 4-H Member for ages 9-13.

Michaela Rock and Stefan Cowley, past outstanding 4-H members, earned the most points for the third year in a row. By doing so, each earned the Silver Level of the Outstanding 4-H Member Award. Rock also received the Most Improved 4-H Member Award. She increased her points the most from year to year.

4-H Point Awards were presented to all 4-H members who completed the Awards Recognition Form. Prizes such as T-shirts and other 4-H items were presented for the different point categories.

Less than 200 points: Sara Duvall.

200-349 points: Zach Gardner, Tyler Howell, Sierra Mullins, Ben­ja­min Lope, Cody Howell and Katie Gardner.

350-499 points: Delaina White and Darian White.

500-749 points: Joseph Taul, Sarah Lope, Weston Heath, Meredith Heath and Stefan Cowley.

750-999 points: Leslie Pike and Hallie Madriaga.

1,500 plus points: Michaela Rock.

Cloverbud participants were Richard Pike, Tara Warren, Madison Wilmoth, Rachel Lope, Dylan Taul and Holden Madriaga.

The 4-H Record Book Awards also were presented at the banquet.

Junior Photo­graphy: Michaela Rock – County Champion/ Blue and District Champion/Blue.

Junior Rabbit: Sierra Mullins – Blue; Michaela Rock – County Champion/Blue and District Champion/Blue.

Senior Rabbit: Stefan Cowley – County Champion/Blue.

Junior cooking: Benjamin Lope – Blue, Sarah Lope – Blue; Michaela Rock – County Champion/Blue and District Champion/Blue.

Junior Dog: Sarah Lope – Blue; Hallie Madriaga – County Champion/Blue.

Junior Gardening: Leslie Pike – County Champion/Blue and District Champion/Blue.

Junior Entomology: Leslie Pike – County Champion/Blue and District Champion/Blue.

Junior Horse: Carey Coffey – County Champion/Blue and District Red.

Senior Horse: Travis Florence – Blue; Katie Gardner – County Champion/Blue.

Cloverbuds: Mad­i­son Wilmoth and Maddy Poirier received participatory ribbons for completing cooking and photography record books respectively.

New 4-H Points record forms are available at the Extension Service office. 4-H members should record their activities from Sept. 1, 2009, through Aug. 31, 2010. Each fall, the completed record forms are due to the Extension Service by the end of Septem­ber.

The 4-H forms along with an essay are used to determine the recipient of the annual Stan­ley Hager 4-H Scholar­ship which is presented to a graduating high school senior each year.